Rhode Island Reds- needing some help

ShannonMC

In the Brooder
5 Years
Oct 16, 2014
Hi! I am new to the whole world of backyard chickens, I have just read post after post until now.
I found 3 Rhode Island Reds for free on Craigslist, from a really really nice woman. She said the birds were about 1 year old. I noticed feathers had been plucked off the dark red one's back and asked her about it. She said that they might have lice or mites. (I got them home and yes, there were lice, we treated them, I imagine some of the missing feathers are also due to this one being picked on by the other two- two of them like to be together and the dark red one seems to be the one they push around.) This lady also said they don't lay this time of year- odd because I waited and chose Rhode Island Reds because they are supposed to be good through the winter.
So to continue, I am only getting an egg every other day or so- its very consistent- so I assume its the same hen who is laying. I looked at their vents, compared, only one has a bright pink/red vent. They other two were clearly light pink. Also the dark red hen seems to have a lighter colored comb.
If they are only a year, shouldn't there be more eggs? It's not really cold here yet. They are very happy in their coop- it could house up to 8 chickens, I am not letting them run loose since I live in a neighborhood- lot of cats and dogs. They were running lose with wild animals on 12 acres before- she said most of them were picked off by coyotes.
I am adding oyster to their feed, but I am not sure what else there is except to wait. They don't appear to be molting.
I guess I am wondering if these hens are much older than what she said they are. She said she starts over new each spring with new hens and can't keep them over the winter because her run isn't insulated- she was right it probably wasn't adequate looking at it.
Thanks for any help ;) Oh I live in south central Kansas btw ;)

Pax,
Shannon

Hi there!

welcome-byc.gif