Saint Pigeons

Discussion in 'Pigeons and Doves' started by mochicken, Oct 30, 2011.

1. mochicken

mochicken Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    NW Missouri
    Does anyone keep them? I have 2 that appear to be saints and I am trying to learn more about them

2. rittert3

rittert3 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Ks (Manhattan area)
    [​IMG]

3. rittert3

rittert3 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Ks (Manhattan area)
    What I alway thought were saints ,turns out, are Russian Tumblers. When I first saw them they were miss labeled as saints, I have no knowledge of actual saints but they seem to look similar to capuchines.

4. deerman

deerman Rest in Peace 1949-2012

Aug 24, 2008
    Southern Ohio
    yes ,but smaller crest..plus they have white heads , and the marking as a saint...other breeds even have a color called saint markings.

5. deerman

Aug 24, 2008
    Southern Ohio
    Monks .........check them out.

6. Mary Of Exeter

Mary Of Exeter Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 10, 2009
    Rowan County, NC
    Monks and Saints are not the same thing. Quite a few breeds are monk marked, such as the Mookee. Most Saints I have seen are white, which was the original color.

The Saint is a fairly new breed created by crossing Schmalkalden Moorheads, Moorhead Tumblers, and Jacobins. It's basically a muffed Capuchine except they aren't baldheaded.

7. deerman

Aug 24, 2008
    Southern Ohio
    Quote:good point Becky...i knew they were not Monks........but do look alot like them, like you said Capuchine muffed..

I was thinking they got the bald head and white flights from the Jacobins'

been along time , from last time i saw them.........i may be mistaken about other breeds having saint markings ...it may have been monks

Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
  8. punk-a-doodle

punk-a-doodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 15, 2011