Separating Roosters from Hens?

schwankelikedonkey

In the Brooder
Aug 6, 2018
Ok, so I'm very new to this. But we've got 8 cockerels and 10 pullets (I've just determined this today) and I'm a little at a loss of what to do with them now that they're getting bigger. They're free range during the day with a stationary coop they go in at night - everyone's together at this point. They're about 4-5 months old. I can find this out exactly if I need to. Most are Ameraucanas direct from Paul Smith, so more high stakes chickens than I'm probably qualified for. :hmm

When do I need to separate them? When do they start breeding? I don't want these poor hens getting more than their fair share all day long with that many roosters.

And then how do I know when an egg is fertilized and how long is the incubation period? And what do I do with a hen that's brooding? I just have no clue here...

Sorry about the 20 questions. And thanks for any help!