Sexing young turkey poult?

CreedSjel

In the Brooder
Sep 28, 2018
I have a young turkey (I got him at a fair as a trade) Anyways.....he is across between a bourbon red and a black Spanish. I say he, I actually have no clue. I was wondering if anyone else could help me.

Attachments

• 845DDBB1-7D29-4399-9544-DBC02BFECBC4.jpeg
    845DDBB1-7D29-4399-9544-DBC02BFECBC4.jpeg
    426 KB · Views: 373
  • 9C6B4BBA-9AA2-43A1-81EB-0B1DEF66F3DA.jpeg
    9C6B4BBA-9AA2-43A1-81EB-0B1DEF66F3DA.jpeg
    594.3 KB · Views: 256
I am totally new to owning a turkey. Can anyone explain what “displaying” is and give me tips for when it gets a little older. Aka what should I look for?

I am totally new to owning a turkey. Can anyone explain what “displaying” is and give me tips for when it gets a little older. Aka what should I look for?
Your poult is a Rusty Black.

Displaying is what toms do when they are showing off for the hens or trying to intimidate something approaching its flock.

Both toms and hens can display.

Tom on left, hen on right
full

Unless you are just raising the poult for food, I strongly recommend getting more turkeys to keep it company. Turkeys are very social and need the companionship of other turkeys.

So, if they can both "display", how do you tell if you have a Tom or a hen? I've read that hens usually have a strip of feathers down the back of their neck. Their feet and legs will be smaller, but when you only have two the same age...it's hard to see the difference. I have a white one that is considerably bigger than the brown one, but both seem to have the stripe down the neck. The white one has started to "display" and I haven't seen the brown one do that. They are being raised from hatch-lings with chickens. I'd say they are about to reach the 3 month or more mark.