Should I be expecting eggs? ***I GOT ONE!!***

Discussion in 'Geese' started by jdywntr, Dec 2, 2012.

1. jdywntr

jdywntr Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 31, 2009
    Somerville, AL
    This is my first year with geese. Earlier today, I found my female African sitting in a corner outside in what was supposed to be a dust bath for the chickens. She had made a little bit of what looked like a nest. This was not in a safe area so after she got up, I put something over the spot. Later, I found her outside of the coop door (it was closed to give my broody muscovy a chance to eat) where she had hollowed out a spot and made what looked like much more of a nest. She didn't get up when I approached so I picked her up, put her in the coop and made her a proper nest in the hay in the corner of the geese area. I had left the hay there as either a spot they could nestle down in or an area for a nest.

I went ahead and stuck a golf ball in there for good measure.

She is about 5.5-6 months old. She has been mating with one of the males for a month or so now. Does this behavior mean I should be expecting eggs?

Thanks.

2. Suzie

Suzie Overrun With Chickens

Jul 9, 2009
    Auvergne
    Normally geese lay eggs during Spring to Summer - depending upon your climate, if it is warm then it is possible - she seems very young to be laying eggs BUT anything is possible!

In fact one of mine laid an egg last week and it is definately Winter here.... everything is frozen including the river and it is snowing right now..... I HATE Winter!

Suzie

3. wildpeas

wildpeas Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2012
    Port Orchard, Wa
    My geese are somewhere around 6 months old and are laying an egg every few days. I'm not sure if they are planning on continuing through the winter or not.

4. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.