Should I be taking this chick away?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TheHalfWayCoop, Nov 30, 2011.

1. TheHalfWayCoop

TheHalfWayCoop Chillin' With My Peeps

May 6, 2011
    Campbellville Ontario
    We had one little silkie baby hatch tonight, but it looks like it hatched early as it's eyes aren't even open (then again, I have zero knowledge as to what a chick should look like), it was under the one broody (there are two in this nest) and still had the bottom half of it's egg attached by the umbilical cord, the other broody pecked it off and the mother broody is stomping all over it and rolling eggs on it while it's still curled up in a ball. Is this normal? Should I leave them alone or start setting up a brooder?

2. Minniechickmama

Minniechickmama Senora Pollo Loco

Sep 4, 2009
    Minnesota
    If you have a brooder and want to go that route, you may need to. However, in my experience, chicks that have a hard time getting out of the egg usually are weak ones anyway and may not be worth the trouble. I am sure others may have a different opinion, but that is my take on what you described.

3. rancher hicks

rancher hicks Chicken Obsessed

Feb 28, 2009
    Syracuse, NY
    Yes, if you have a brooder set up, it would be best. If after she has hatched the others you can put the early chicks back.

You do mention another broody. It's best to separate your broody hens to a private place where they can hatch undisturbed.

I wish you well,

Rancher

4. MetalSmitten

MetalSmitten Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    bloomington, indiana