Should I use Tylan 50 for bantam chick leg injury? Orally?

Meara

Songster
9 Years
Jan 23, 2011
Midwest
I have an ~ 10 week old bantam chick who injured her leg at the joint. I have no idea how she managed this, but it looks like she got the leg stuck and mangled it at the joint trying to get loose. The joint is now swollen and hot to the touch. So far all I have done is isolate her (brought her in the house), given her some of a vitamin and electrolyte solution (by Durvet) and covered the wound in triple antibiotic.

I have not yet cleaned the wound (suggestions on what to use???).

Should I start her on an antibiotic? I have Tylan 50 on hand. If so can I use it orally? Dosage? I'm worried about trying to do an injection as she is so small and I have never done it before.

She is a fantastic chick, my very favorite of this year's efforts, and I don't want to lose her! Thank you in advance for your help everyone!

Hi @Meara

I'm sorry to hear about your chick - can you post some photos of the leg and joint (chick too - would love to see her:)).

Is the wound at the hock? Without seeing it - is it oozing, bleeding, etc.?

General care would be to flush/cleanse the wound with saline, sterile water or diluted betadine, then apply triple antibiotic ointment or Vetericyn.
If it looks infected, then you can try injectable Tylan50 to see if that will help. It can be given orally (or by injection).

You will need to weigh her so you give the correct amount. Dosage is 1cc or ml per 5lbs of weight, given 2X a day for 5days.