Sick baby chick

HobbyFarmHopeful

Hatching
9 Years
Jul 20, 2010
Hi there! I am new to all things farming.
smile.png
We recently moved onto 49 acres and hope to start our own small farm.
I had my first baby chicks delivered last Thursday and they have been doing wonderful. However, today several of them have been holding their mouths open. They were fine this morning when I gave them fresh water and food. I did have a brooder lamp on them but have turned it off because I thought perhaps they are just too hot. However, my instructions from the hatchery were that i had to keep them at a constant temperature of 100 degrees. I'm not sure what to do. It is hot here. I live in Ky and the humidity and heat are awful right now. So, I personally think that the outside temperature should be fine, but since I'm new to this, I really don't know. They look completely fine otherwise, nostrils, eyes, mouth are all clear. They are moving about. Please help! I don't want to lose any of them.
sad.png

Keep the heat lamp somewhere and make sure there is place for them to move away if they are too hot. And move back if they feel cold

However, the gaping mouth does sound like they were trying to cool themselves down. They don't sweat, so they sort of 'gasp' to cool themselves a little.
But give them the option of being under the heat lamp or not x