Sick chickens, not sure what to do!! HELP PLEASE!!!

speedfreak

Hatching
11 Years
May 11, 2008
Ontario, Canada
Hello all, I'm just new to this whole chicken thing. We've recently gotten about fourty chickens. Layer, don't know what they're breed are, and a few banties. They were bought in three lots at a farm auction, the first bunch we were assured were very healthy one year hens, then came the banties, and last about 25 older hens. Everything was going ok up until about ten days ago. We've lost seven chickens, and it looks like they're four more on the brink. What they're exhibiting: dirty looking, lethargic, nasal secretions, sneezing, a couple of the sick hens have bulging eyes where it looks like they're loosing feathers around them, they're stools are a runny, brown colour -- no blood that I can see and finally they just give up. Egg laying has decreased. I've started them on erythomycin antibiotic in their water, but am wondering if I am treating them properly, and if there is anything else I can do? Also, not all the flock are exhibiting symtoms, but if this is something that can spread I want to nip it in the bud. Tomorrow is barn cleaning day (that's where they're housed) and any suggestions you may have would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

erythromycin is good..
but they may need some Tylan 200 or Tylan 50 injectible..

it's possible they could have a combination of problems..

they could also have cocci..

best thing to do is get a fecal float done at a vet..to check for worms and cocci..

sounds like they might have Coryza.

check for mites..

might be too late to quarantine..but I'd still do that with any showing symptoms..

Last edited:
Hi, How are things going? Do they have mites? Are they skinny?

Sammi wrote:
sounds like they might have Coryza

Hi Sammi,
Could I ask what this is? I have never heard of it before!
Thank you and good luck, please let me know, Speedfreak, how things are going!
Crystalchik​