Sick hen - mites, pain, not moving much

GenGen3

In the Brooder
Dec 24, 2021
Hello. I'm very new to owning chickens. I acquired 3 hens from a farmer that didn't take the best care of them. All 3 have scaley leg mites and a few other critters running around on their skin. I've treated them all with dewormer and will wait to see if that works. One of the hens has exceptionally bad feet and I came out to find that she had a partially severed toe a couple of days ago which I amputated and bandaged. I've been treating all feet with peroxide and Vaseline and it seems to be working but the hen with the worst feet seems to be in a lot of pain; the scales are falling off and her feet look almost raw. I'm going to try to give her some medicam but just wondering how do I know if I should take steps to end her suffering via euthanasia or continue treating her? She is an 18m old barnevelder, sits alone in the bottom of the coop. She is eating a little and "drinking" snow. I haven't seen her drink water or poop recently. Any advice would be appreciated. 🙏

Last edited:
Welcome To BYC

Where are you located in the world?
Can you please post some photos of the hens and their feet?

What did you deworm with - product and dose?
Have you treated for the critters running around on the skin? Permethrin dust or spray can be found at stores like TSC.

I would not use any more peroxide on the feet. Just vaseline or triple antibiotic ointment if the skin is raw.

Welcome To BYC

Where are you located in the world?
Can you please post some photos of the hens and their feet?

What did you deworm with - product and dose?
Have you treated for the critters running around on the skin? Permethrin dust or spray can be found at stores like TSC.

I would not use any more peroxide on the feet. Just vaseline or triple antibiotic ointment if the skin is raw.