Sign of hens about to lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by KingCoopa, Jul 6, 2018.

1. KingCoopa

KingCoopa Chirping

May 16, 2018
    Kirkland, WA
    Newbie here. My two hens are almost exactly 5 months old. As far as I know they have reached the age to start laying. They've been good about almost never going into the nesting boxes up to this point, which I've heard is good thing until they're ready to lay. Yesterday I noticed that perfect little nests had been formed in the straw inside of the nesting boxes (see attached photo). No eggs, but I assume this behavior means that they will lay any day now? Anyone have a good guess or experience with this? I'm anxiously awaiting the arrival of an egg! Mostly because my wife enjoys watching me fail at my hobby and keeps telling me they are never going to lay. LOL!!!

Attached Files:

2. woodenfarm

woodenfarm Songster

Mar 28, 2017
    TN
    They should be close.
    Some breeds lay early and some slower..... my white leghorn that hates me she laid her eggs right on time where my Wyandotte was one of the last ones to give us an egg

3. RenegadeSkate3

RenegadeSkate3 Chirping

Jul 3, 2018
    Wow wow that’s a good wife you’ve got there:lol: honestly I’m not a chicken expert nor any kind of bird expert! I’m brand new but deploying to atleast show that people are looking st this post !! ^~^ good luck mate I’ll stick around

4. KingCoopa

KingCoopa Chirping

May 16, 2018
    Kirkland, WA
    I hope so! I've got a Cream Legbar and a Rhodebar. The breeder told me could be any time from last weekend through the next two or three weeks? Thanks for the reply!

5. KingCoopa

KingCoopa Chirping

May 16, 2018
    Kirkland, WA
    Hahaha! All in good fun with the wife! She thinks that my raising of the chickens is ridiculous, so she likes to give me a hard time. She's been nice enough to allow me to drop a bunch of $ on this whole thing. So that's cool! Thank for the reply!

6. Art_plus_chickens