SLW and Brahma - can you identify the gender?

Mare van der Mescht

In the Brooder
Feb 9, 2022
South Africa
Hi everyone,
I am new to these two breeds. Can someone please confirm the gender of these two for me? I suspect they are both boys. The SLW is Pixel and I think he is about 18 weeks old. The Brahma is Lincoln and I am not sure of his age, perhaps 12 or 14 weeks. I think Lincoln could be a pullet, but there are 2 suspicious looking feathers amongst his tail feathers. It almost looks like it could be sickle feathers, but I am not sure. Sorry about the bad pics, Lincoln just would not stand still for long enough to get a decent pic of his back. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20220209_141448.jpg
    IMG_20220209_141448.jpg
    362.1 KB · Views: 28
  • IMG_20220209_135235.jpg
    IMG_20220209_135235.jpg
    604.1 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_20220209_134923.jpg
    IMG_20220209_134923.jpg
    395.5 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_20220209_141402.jpg
    IMG_20220209_141402.jpg
    441.6 KB · Views: 16
The SLW has the female color pattern.

Can you get a photo of the Brahma's saddle area with your hand or a piece of colored paper slipped under the feathers so we can see the shape? That's a good trick for white birds, black birds, and birds with deceptive color patterns.

If you can't catch them in the daylight, take them off the roost after dark and use the camera flash. :)

Can you get a photo of the Brahma's saddle area with your hand or a piece of colored paper slipped under the feathers so we can see the shape? That's a good trick for white birds, black birds, and birds with deceptive color patterns.

If you can't catch them in the daylight, take them off the roost after dark and use the camera flash. :)