Standoffish Australorps chicks

TurkeyMountainChickens

Songster
10 Years
Apr 3, 2009
Central Virginia
Hi!

My other chicks (Langshans, Americanas, Wyandottes), were all eating out of my hand by a week old. By two weeks, they were eating the occasional treat - strawberry tops, grass clippings, cracked barley, etc.

I have recently acquired four australorps pullets. They're three weeks old, and we've had them for two weeks. So far, they won't even look at any food in my hand, and won't even peck anything that isn't starter crumble.

I've seen posts that Australorps were good foragers, but so far these pullets show no indication. Have any others had this experience with 'Lorps?

Thanks!

I have 50 chicks including Astralorps, EE's and Wyandottes. I have no experience with Langshans. If you got your so-called ameracaunas from a hatchery such as MM or Ideal, they are EE's, not Ameraucanas. Feed stores usually get chicks from hatcheries.

My Australorps are by far the friendliest of my bunch, will eat out of my hand and jump on my knee when I sit with the chicks (7 weeks now.) I also have an Australorp hen who is he leader of my small free range flock. She tolerates my picking her up, but is not what some would call friendly.

I suspect your Australorps just need a little more time to adjust to their new surroundings. Chickens do not tolerate change well. Hopefully they will adjust in time.

I have Australorps and I like them, they are very good layers and they do forage, but I think they are kinda spazzy. They are the ones that freak out when I shoo them back in the coop. They are good birds to have in the flock though and beautiful birds!!
big_smile.png