Starting a new flock in Reno

ajlynco

Songster
11 Years
Sep 7, 2011
Tool, TX
Hi All,
I'm a newbie to BYC and raising chickens. What a tremendously informative site this is. My initial objective is to raise some dual purpose hens (ordering day-olds at the end of September or early Oct.) and am considering 3 Rhode Island Reds and 3 Barred Rocks. Something small to get started and work out the major bugs. I live in town now, however, in about a year I'll be moving to a place with more elbow room ( Reno area). While still living in town I'm going to build a portable tractor coop due to limited space in my yard and will provide a portable run as an add-on in the spring. Will these breeds fare well in the Reno climate and keep producing eggs during the winters? What is a reputable hatchery? I'm leaning towards Murray McMurry. After I move I'll expand the flock and bone up on raising more egg layers and some broilers for meat only. If anyone in this area thinks I could pick a better breed, I'm open for suggestion. Or for that matter, any suggestions are welcome. Thank all of you BYC patrons for your input...what an outstanding website!!
thumbsup.gif

I believe the minimum number you can order from McMurray is 25 chicks. So unless you are going in with a bunch of others you might need to look at MyPetChicken.com. Their minimum order is 3 to 6 depending on where you live. Their website will tell you how many you have to order if you put in your zip code.

Good luck. I was in your shoes just a month ago. I now have 5 fuzzy butts living in my basement.

Sorry I can't help you with hatcheries since I'm fairly new myself and I've gotten all my birds locally from BYC friends, swaps and even facebook groups! lol...just wanted to say
welcome-byc.gif

With Ideal, there is no minimum order of chicks, you just have to order 20$ worth of merchandise.
welcome-byc.gif

I see Elizabeth got to you first
lol.png