Starting a new flock in Reno

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ajlynco, Sep 14, 2011.

1. ajlynco

ajlynco Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 7, 2011
    Reno, NV.
    Hi All,
    I'm a newbie to BYC and raising chickens. What a tremendously informative site this is. My initial objective is to raise some dual purpose hens (ordering day-olds at the end of September or early Oct.) and am considering 3 Rhode Island Reds and 3 Barred Rocks. Something small to get started and work out the major bugs. I live in town now, however, in about a year I'll be moving to a place with more elbow room ( Reno area). While still living in town I'm going to build a portable tractor coop due to limited space in my yard and will provide a portable run as an add-on in the spring. Will these breeds fare well in the Reno climate and keep producing eggs during the winters? What is a reputable hatchery? I'm leaning towards Murray McMurry. After I move I'll expand the flock and bone up on raising more egg layers and some broilers for meat only. If anyone in this area thinks I could pick a better breed, I'm open for suggestion. Or for that matter, any suggestions are welcome. Thank all of you BYC patrons for your input...what an outstanding website!! [​IMG]

2. BarnGoddess01

BarnGoddess01 I [IMG]emojione/assets/png/2665.png?v=2.2.7[/IMG]

You are on the right track! Not a thing wrong with McMurray for getting started. And [​IMG]

Keep reading!!! You'll learn loads.

3. larsonll

larsonll Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 13, 2011
    West Georgia
    Does Murray McMurray ship less than 25 chicks? I couldn't get less than that in July when I ordered. So I ordered 5 from MPC.

4. rpchris

rpchris Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 27, 2011
    Saint Louis, MO