Sticky Yolk covered eggs

JazzyChook

Hatching
Jan 20, 2023
Hi everyone. I have 2 rescue chickens, Bernie and Gertie. I've only had them a few months so I'm still very new to all of this!

I've had a couple of strange eggs this week and I'm a little bit worried about my girls.

Today I had 2 eggs, one was covered in yolk and the other was clean (apart from a bit of splashback). There was yolk all through the hay as well but no broken shell (Pic 1 & 2). A few days ago, I found an egg on the grass, outside of the laying box that was covered in a clear discharge? It was dried up but still gooey in places. Egg was fine when I cracked it (Pic 3).

Both chooks seem happy and are behaving normally. Bernie will come for a cuddle and doesnt mind being handled, I've checked her iver and she seems fine, no messy bum or swelling or anything. Gertie is still quite timid after being rescued so I've never been able to pick her up without scaring her, observing from a distance she has no messy bum and is eating normally.

Am I worrying too much over a few messy eggs? Or is there a bigger issue I need to consider? Please help!!

Attachments

• 20230120_182522.jpg
    20230120_182522.jpg
    384.5 KB · Views: 43
  • 20230120_182848.jpg
    20230120_182848.jpg
    587 KB · Views: 5
  • 20230116_193425.jpg
    20230116_193425.jpg
    385.3 KB · Views: 7
Welcome to BYC!
One of these girls is laying shell-less eggs. How old are they?
I would put out a container of oyster shell and keep it full at all times for free feeding if you don't already have that.
I would also give both of them calcium citrate with Vit D for a week. Give them one tablet in the morning before they come off the roost and one in the evening after they go to roost. I like these:
calcium citrate bottle.png

Welcome to BYC!
One of these girls is laying shell-less eggs. How old are they?
I would put out a container of oyster shell and keep it full at all times for free feeding if you don't already have that.