Sudden Chicken Death - cause unsure

jennybunnyatx

In the Brooder
Apr 6, 2015
So, I'm new to all of this (just passed the 1 year anniversary of getting my first batch of chicks) and today I lost one of girls. I'm hoping for help with diagnosing a cause because this seems out of nowhere. When I left for work this morning my light Brahma was fine but I came home to find her dead and stiff in the nest box. Not a mark on her (at least not that I saw), and I have no idea what happened. We had a raccoon attack a week or 2 back, and some of the others got scratched up a little so I've been keeping more of an eye on them to make sure they're ok and she was one of the least affected by that, so this is a big shock. Now I'm worried about my other 4 girls and want to make sure I do what I can to keep from loosing any more.

Any ideas? (I have photos of the body if that might help?)

Dead and stiff in the nest box. So was she in a laying position? Stretched out position?

Any sign of egg binding? (They can really strain hard with a large egg which could cause heart failure if a weak heart.)

I take it no signs of struggle or any disturbance? (ie feathers everywhere?)

My first thought is the coon came back. I had a raccoon this winter hunt in broad daylight after I scared him off at night. It took me a week of his interference before we were able to trap him and stop his harassment of my hens.

Yes, a photo might help.

So sorry for your loss. I know how frustrating that is especially with no known cause.

Sometimes they simply do drop dead, often of heart issues.

LofMc

No ruffled feathers, and she was in laying position. Honestly at first glance nothing even struck me as wrong but her head was lolling off to the side.