The top of my girls' beaks look white and a layer has flaked off it seems

ChickaBonBon

Hatching
Mar 7, 2018
Looking for help-

I'm new to owning chickens and my five chicks arrived this past October 24th. They are now much bigger and doing well except I just noticed the other day that a few of my girls look like the top of their beaks are turning a white-ish color. One of my hens looks like a layer of her beak has chipped or flaked of even. Just hoping people who are more experienced could give me some help and guidance. I'll try to include a picture.
Thanks!!!
IMG_2601.JPG

Just as your finger nails breaking easily signal a dietary deficiency in your body, so does a flaking, crumbling beak signify nutrients possibly missing in your chickens' diet.

You need to examine what you are feeding them. If they eat a commercial feed, it's pretty well balanced with what your chickens need, but if you're offsetting it with more than a scant amount of kitchen scraps and other treats, they may not be getting enough of the vitamins and minerals they need.

You can give them fish oil for a few weeks and see if that helps, but if you're feeding a lot of scraps, you might want to cut way back.

Just as your finger nails breaking easily signal a dietary deficiency in your body, so does a flaking, crumbling beak signify nutrients possibly missing in your chickens' diet.

You need to examine what you are feeding them. If they eat a commercial feed, it's pretty well balanced with what your chickens need, but if you're offsetting it with more than a scant amount of kitchen scraps and other treats, they may not be getting enough of the vitamins and minerals they need.

You can give them fish oil for a few weeks and see if that helps, but if you're feeding a lot of scraps, you might want to cut way back.
Thank you!!