threatened by a turkey?

mpguay

Songster
8 Years
Apr 27, 2011
I am new to turkeys. I have 12 twelve-week-olds. Blue Slate and Bourbon Red. The toms are getting BIG. They are sweet and follow me around. Can they turn on me like a rooster can? I was pretty impressed at the ferocity of a Polish rooster who turned on me. But these toms are 3 times the size. and, yes, I saw the documentary "Talking Turkey".

From what I have read here on the forum, turkeys in general seem to be calm and easy to deal with. mine are lovely so far.

Has anyone had a bad experience?

I did once buy turkeys off someone who thought inbreeding didn't matter with birds etc, only mammals, and they bred turkeys who would always attack once your back was turned. They'd kept their toms in with a pig and the pig lived in fear of them.

Since these were my first ever turkeys, they were predestined to be food anyway, so I didn't mind. Otherwise I never would have bought off them. As you'd expect, from such unsocialized parents came antisocial chicks that bullied chickens enthusiastically, and once toms reached adulthood we had a few start displaying at us and hurrying towards us when our backs were turned.