To insulate or not to insulate...

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by rockiemtchix, Mar 17, 2013.

1. rockiemtchix

rockiemtchix Out Of The Brooder

Mar 17, 2013
    Colorado
    Total newbie, here. I'm getting ready to assemble my pre-fab chicken coop, and I'm wondering about interior needs such as insulation and paint. I live in the mountains of Colorado (8520 ft) and it obviously gets a bit windy and chilly up here.
    ? #1: I've read that my chickens (Ameracaunnas) won't need any insulation or heat source, but I'm still worried about them freezing on super-cold nights. So I am considering reflective foil insulation. Has anyone in the Rocky Mt region used this type of insulation w success? Keeping in mind I've purchased my coop prefab and I'm sure it's not top-of-the-line.
    ?#2: My coop has a pull-out vinyl tray for cleaning and the interior is wood. I'm considering painting the interior white for easy clean up (and maybe some xtra warmth as the paint might seal those drafty cracks- it does have proper ventilation w a hardware cloth covered window).
    Advice?

2. Painting or sealing is a good idea if you can. Painting can help seal the wood and keep parasites at bay more easily. Painting or sealing also helps with keeping the coop clean.

If I were at 8500 ft I would add insulation.

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    [​IMG]

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas