Too Mean for the Flock?

GreenHaven

Chirping
Apr 17, 2023
Pacific Northwest
I have a separate rooster flock. Some will be kept to breed, but most will be eaten when they are older. I have 14, and they are 10 weeks old. There is one rooster (the top of the pecking order) who seems pretty mean. However, I’m a newbie, and not quite sure what I should expect. But he chases and pins the heads of some of his flock mates. Frequently, it seems like he is totally unprovoked when he does this. His flock mates let him have the food or the sand bath whenever he walks up. Still - he seems to go after some of them even when they are leaving. He does not bother me - doesn’t peck me or anything - in fact he won’t let me near him. The other flock mates are pretty chill and friendly. But I am now seeing some of the other Roos behaving like this and I’m wondering what to do. Advice?

My advice would be to get rid of him. He's gonna put all the other chickens on edge and, as you said, the others will start mirroring his behaviour. Not to mention that the hens will probably start hating him at some point.

You mentioned you have 14. What breeds are they? What breed is he? What are your specific breeding plans?

As a fellow newb, I don't have any real rooster experience, but I think it would be very difficult for me to justify keeping a bully in my breeding plan.