Understanding Genetics

Knighstar679

Crowing
Jun 12, 2018
Seneca Falls, NY
I am using the genetics calculator online and looking at a possible breeding that I might have going on in some eggs with my Black east Indie Eggs.

So the Hen would be a Black East Indie and the Drake could be one of two drakes on this test set. Either my Black East Indie which would make life easy or it could be Courage a Welsh Harliquin that would make life hard and tricky. It is the harliquin paring I am looking at right now.

So the calculator is saying the offspring would be
Male
mdmd Li+lih Ee+ bl+bl+ C+C+ B+B+ r+r+ D+d Bu+Bu+
Black Self

Female Reads
mdmd Li+lih Ee+ bl+bl+ C+C+ B+B+ r+r+ d- Bu+-
Chocolate

Does this mean all female ducklings from this would be chocolate in color? Or is there an off chance that there would be Black females in there as well? This is my first time really playing with this calculator and trying to really understand it.

It is an interesting topic. I know that genetics can be a tricky and fickle thing.

I remember reading in Hollreads book that how we got the Australian Spotted was due to genetic flukes where mules were able to breed. His estimate was like one in a 100 ducklings that were pintail ducks mixed with mallard where able to do this or something like that. So i understand outliers but know they are extremely rare to.

My goal isn't to get the random ducklings through I would like the black east indie, but lets face it I am not sure who my little female decided to fertilize her eggs with as she has been frisky with both males.

This is a totally cool project! I want to encourage you on it.

I'm somewhat interested in trying to find a way to get all black or all white runner ducks myself. Some people have them.

Its so interesting! So I want your project to work! Go ahead! Please try and be successful!

Would that chocolate color be dominant over multiple generations?