UPDATE- Broody Muscovy question*pic*

learycow

Crowing
13 Years
Apr 1, 2011
Southern Maine
I just got 2 hens and a drake, all muscovy. They were raised together and are definately mated. How will I know when a hen will go broody? So far one has 3 eggs in her nest, but she hasn't been sitting on them. Will she lay a bunch and then sit on them? Or should I collect the eggs?

It's been getting down into the high 50s-low 60s at night. I'm afraid that if I leave the eggs, they will go bad since she's not sitting on them.

I am new to the broody duck thing, so any help or advice would be great!

Last edited:
She will continue to lay eggs until she is ready to set on them. In my case, my girls will lay 8 - 10 eggs before they become broody and set. I think that my girls know when the nights will be chilly because I will see them setting on the eggs and "I assume" they are keeping the chill off of them. If it were me, I would leave the eggs.

Do you have an incubator to put the eggs in if you were to collect them?

With only three eggs in the clutch, give her some time. Once she realizes that this is a safe place to nest and the urge to go broody really kicks in she will start building the nest. Make sure that she has plenty of near-by material to start doing this. If you don't she'll make her own nest material like mine all seem to do: they start pulling out their own feathers from the fluffy down layer to make their nest.

She will know when to start sitting on them, don't worry about them going 'bad'. Just try not to bother her as much as possible or else she will abandon the eggs.

Good luck, I just went through what you are going through! My first (well ... first successful anyway, we've had two unsuccessful attempts this year) broody Muscovy sitting experience ended with a great hatching today so of course now I feel like a battle-hardened vet!