Update: Candled eggs! Questions on letting broody hens/ hens hatching eggs

TreCurtis

In the Brooder
7 Years
Oct 3, 2012
Ok, so this is my first experiment in the broody business, AND I'm relatively new to raising chickens.

So, let me start off by saying that I had suspected I had a couple broody hens laying on a clutch, but I couldn't really get in to check on them because I had this extremely aggressive rooster who has since been culled. Incidentally, that's the same reason they ended up with the clutch in the first place. Anyhow, now I am able to get in there without fear and really check on them. Just as I suspected; two broody hens side by side, practically sharing a nest! I suspected one has been broody now for at least two weeks, and the other probably closer to a week (although my memory is really fuzzy). I actually want to try to hatch this clutch, especially now that I don't have a rooster.
fl.gif

I have some probably really stupid questions... So my apologies in advance. LOL!
hmm.png

So my questions are: I'm tempted, can I actually just leave them be and watch what happens, does anyone have any experience with just letting a chicken lay, set, hatch, and brood with minimal intervention? We've had some hot weather, can the hens essentially bake the eggs (it ran through my mind and I had to ask!)? I have some duck eggs in there as well, if and when chicks come I'm considering putting the duck eggs under chicken number 2? Do they know if there is a dud egg? What is the success rate with this type of situation? I've pretty much convinced myself that this will not actually happen, so when do I give up?

Thanks everyone!

Teresa

Hens have been laying, hatching, and raising chicks with no real human intervention for thousands of years, so yes it is possible. The ones most successful at this are the ones that hide a nest, not lay in a coop. When you have other chickens laying in the coop, you need some intervention.