Ventilation In Metal Shed Coop

BrookePoe

In the Brooder
Mar 16, 2018
Hi guys! I am a newbie to this page but have been a chicken mama for about 2 years now. Our flock has grown as of the last 2 weeks (chick math) so we decided to buy a metal shed, got a awesome deal so couldn’t pass it up! We want to be sure we add adequate ventilation & windows to the coop so the girls get sunlight and so forth! Does anyone have advice on how we should do this as well as where do we put the windows? Do we add them up high or where the chickens can see out of them? I want to use the windows that I can close off with like shutters (wood) or prop open! Any other suggestions for making this large metal shed a cozy home to our chickens is greatly appreciated! We do plan on adding plywood walls and we already have the floor built out of wood and plan on using a large sheet of lenolemn we got on sale for the cover on the floor! I use sand in my current coop and love it! Would love to see pics of ur ideas or coops as well :) looking forward to interacting with all of the other chicken parents on here!!

Hi guys! I am a newbie to this page but have been a chicken mama for about 2 years now. Does anyone have advice on how we should do this as well as where do we put the windows?
Hello , I like Ventilation windows up on the front top of the coop , They should be open most all of the time .
To just add more fresh Air when it is hot ..put it on the 2 sides at least ..Leaving the back closed ( may be more insulating) or Put one on the back also if you want .
Windows can add light to the coop ..and they will lay better in the winter if you have light . Put windows at the level you like or can reach or high enough so it isnt real easy for predators
I have some concern about a metal building - over heating ..Is it in the sun or in shade ?