Very new and in need of help

Aaron516

Hatching
11 Years
Apr 10, 2008
West Virginia
I am new to raising chickens. I havent actually started yet because i wanted to be prepared for it before i start. I need to know a few things before i start:

1. How big and what type of coop do i need? I planned on getting about 5 laying age chickens from a local farm supply store.

2. What type of chicken should i get for laying and general info on that?

3. I live in WV and winters are cold. How would i prepare for that?

Those are my major questions, but i would accept any free advice. I would like to know a little more about the coop and raising them. Id like to know about feeding and how much they eat. I am kinda just looking through the forums and catching on as i go. Thanks everyone!

Aaron

well you need to decide how meny chickens you want max.id build a 10 by 10 or a 12 by 12.but i dont know how much room you have to work with.they will house 33 to 50 chickens.you need a brooder heat light feeder an waterer.pro reds blk austalopes or rhode island reds are all good layers.

Hi Aaron, I'm in WV too!!..What part are you from?..I'm in Randolph Co......Are you building your own coop or pre-built?...I have a nice 12 by 14 henhouse that houses 26 hens & roosters nicely in the winter...I have my henhouse divided off into two seperate coops each with a run of their own...

I've raised RIRs, White Rocks, Buff Orpingtons, Black/Blue/Splash Orpingtons and Light Brahmas...All do well in the WV winters...

Depending on if you get chicks or older hens or pullets as to what you will be feeding them...days old require starter/grower/finisher all the way to point of lay at 17 to 18 weeks depending on breed...Some wait til the pullets start laying before giving layer....Hens will need layer pellets/crumbles or mash so they will lay well...Hope I helped...

Last edited: