Wanted Copper Maran

JHDH

Hatching
11 Years
Aug 3, 2008
Florida
I am rather new to all of this. I am looking for copper maran that lay the really dark brown eggs. My daughter has heard of the chocolate egg layers and wants some. Thanks

i can personally vouch for ebay seller bayhorsebonne. Her eggs are not cheap but they are the real deal. she is ethical to the highest degree, her birds are beautiful, huge, tame. her eggs are dark and extra large. Tell her patty in riverside sent ya!

Give it a year or 2. the price will go WAY down by then. I just wish I was on the "Golden Egg Train" right now. I would be jumping for joy!!!

Call me a dumb broad, but what makes these chickens so special? Thanks for all the replies.

Quote:
You're not dumb at all, it is a good question. The short answer is that the copper black variety of marans typically lays the darkest eggs of all of the marans, right now. Many dedicated breeders are working on improving egg color on other colors of marans so they will soon see a surge in popularity as well. Unfortunately, there are individuals who only see dollar signs with these birds and mistakenly believe that if they buy dark eggs, or birds hatched from dark eggs, then all of their birds will lay dark eggs and they will be able to sell a lot of dark eggs for $$$$. I wish it were actually that easy. The truth is that birds from dark eggs will give you the highest percentage of birds that lay dark eggs. Some will be lighter than others. Some hens will fade more quickly than others. It is only through careful selection and culling that you maintain good egg color, otherwise they will eventually fade out and you wind up with poor egg color across the board.