1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Wasps and Yellow Jackets???

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Mander9888, Apr 11, 2011.

1. Mander9888

Mander9888 Out Of The Brooder

May 10, 2010
    Rome, GA
    I am new to owning chickens and now that the weather has changed so much I am having lots of wasps and yellow jackets. I know yellow jackets live in the ground, but I am not sure what draws them to make a nest. The wasps keep trying to start nests and I spray them down with a water hose. I am allergic to both of the darn things, and I don't know what I can do to keep them away. Is there any type of spray or granules I can use to keep them away that is safe for the chickens? I mean I know none of it really will be, but I can't risk being stung, but DO NOT want to hurt the chickens. Are their any options you may have used that work??

2. Gallo del Cielo

Gallo del Cielo La Gallina Resort & Spa

May 6, 2010
    Tucson
    My Coop
    Here's an excerpt from Arbico Organics, a company that specializes in pest control:
    Arbico: yellow jackets, you may wish to apply boric acid in dry form at night where they are known to be entering. It will take a while, but the boric acid will be carried into the nest and do its work. Do not close up the entrance until you have seen no activity for several days.

Here's the link I got it from: http://www.arbico-organics.com/category/pest-solver-guide-wasps-yellow-jackets

Good
    luck!​

3. dawg53

dawg53 Humble

Nov 27, 2008
    Jacksonville, Florida
    You can spray "Pam" on paper wasps and nests.

4. itallstartedwithhamburgs

itallstartedwithhamburgs Out Of The Brooder

Oct 2, 2009
    Northeastern NC
    90 percent rubbing alcohol in a spray bottle will kill them within seconds. We keep a bottle on our porch.