Water for chickens in cold climate

Wisconsinted

Chirping
Jun 28, 2023
This is my first year with chickens, and I live in Wisconsin, which soon nights will start getting below freezing, and soon after that some days, and soon after it will most likely be below freezing all day long, with possible below zero temps, polar vortexes, you name it . What is the best way to get water to chickens in this climate? Kind of a noob question but I work during day so I can't be with my chickens to keep giving them new water, as well as lack of daylight will be an issue when I'm not working. If someone uses something to keep water in it's liquid state, what do you use?

I use the bucket heater from TSC in a bucket that is wraped in Fiber glass insulation and then covered with duct tape. It also has 3 of the water nipples in it that they to lick to get the water to come out. I used a "Homer bucket" from Home Depot for the bucket, about 4 gallons. Lasts my 12 chickens about 3 days in winter. Mine is inside the house on concret blocks set in a rubber water heater catch pan to keep the floor litter dry.

I bring fresh water when I bring food. They don't need to drink all day. They will fill up. To be safe, bring water 3 times a day if you don't have a heated bowl. If indoors, a low watt light bulb over the water might keep it from freezing.

This is my first year with chickens, and I live in Wisconsin, which soon nights will start getting below freezing, and soon after that some days, and soon after it will most likely be below freezing all day long, with possible below zero temps, polar vortexes, you name it . What is the best way to get water to chickens in this climate? Kind of a noob question but I work during day so I can't be with my chickens to keep giving them new water, as well as lack of daylight will be an issue when I'm not working. If someone uses something to keep water in it's liquid state, what do