Week Old Chick now Lethargic had Pasty Butt won't eat on own.

Rebecca13

Songster
Oct 6, 2020
Story version of what is going on with the chick:
I am new to the bird trade. I have 6 chicks I brought home on Saturday. On Sunday I noticed one had pasty butt, so i cleaned her up and put her back with the crew. She seemed OK. On Monday I had to work until noon in the office, I came home and noticed she was lethargic and had some poop still stuck on her butt. I cleaned her up again (I rinsed her butt only under not too hot not too cold water and dried her off with a towel), and put her with her siblings. I was giving her water with electrolytes and probiotics (save-a-chick brand) on a q-tip, she seemed receptive to that.
Today (Tuesday) I moved her into her own container with a light, the temp is staying steady at 96F. I've been giving her the water on a q-tip every hour to half hour, she's also drinking a bit on her own. I tried giving her Caro Syrup, since we didn't have molasses, she didn't really want it. I think a little bit got in her. She is still lethargic and breathing hard at times.

Numbered questions answered:
1) Type of bird: 1 1/2 week old Rhode Island Red
2) Behavior: She is lethargic, breathing heavy at times, laying down most of the time. Will not eat, drinks if I show her the water or if I give it to her on a q-tip.
3) She's been showing symptoms since Sunday night (it is Tuesday when I'm writing this).
4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms? No other symptoms in the other 5 chicks.
5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma. No trauma
6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation. - unknown, I believe she had pasty butt when I brought her home.
7) What has the bird been eating and drinking, if at all. - Water with Save A Chick brand probiotic and electrolyte additives. Not eating.