What do you put in your Run?

EverythingDucks

🙄🤚 𝙻𝚒𝚝𝚝𝚕𝚎 𝙳𝚞𝚌𝚔
Premium Feather Member
May 7, 2020
The Bermuda Triangle
I've been looking for some chicken run ideas but I can't seem to find any ideas for the inside. I was thinking maybe some plants (like Mexican feather grass) and some roosts but I'm new to chickens so I don't know a whole lot yet.
Feel free to share pictures and any ideas you have

You can see the coop, the feeder/waterer shelter, the anti-hawk shelter, the in-run perch, and the straw-bale wind baffles.
1201201229.jpg

1201201229b_HDR.jpg

1225201654.jpg

They dig their own dust baths, which I fill up with pine straw if they get too deep for my comfort.
1008201707a (3).jpg

1006201437h_HDR.jpg

To summarize:

Things to sit on.
Things to sit under.
Places to get away from the others.
Shelter from sun/rain/airborne predators.
Stuff to dig through in search of goodies.
Wind baffles arranged to offer protection from any angle since we can get storms from any direction.

I have a roof on my run but still have logs to jump on, a place for dirt baths, and perches.
I do have lots of trees, bushes, and perennials in my yard for when they are free ranging. This fall I just added a repurposed gazebo. I have done stick tent structures that sort of resemble a teepee with the sticks being spaced far enough apart that a chicken could get through, I have seen some creative stick structures and tunnels on Pinterest that people have made for kids and thought it would be cool for the chickens.

Some pics😊 but keep in mind I open them up to free range everyday unless it’s storming... very basic but they are happy and lay eggs: the small cage is were my rooster goes if he won’t give the girls a break or if we need to isolate a hen. The medium coop and run is were we can breed certain hens and the large is were most all the flock stays at night 🌹
FF7F983D-244B-4339-841D-6CD99C6D85C8.jpeg
BDB3C43C-776F-435E-A886-E5823336660F.jpeg
6DB992E4-32A5-4312-B4CE-F8D26EEFBDA4.jpeg