What time of day do your hens lay their eggs?

SueMuffin

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jul 30, 2010
Hudson Valley, NY
I am new to chickens, but I thought hens laid eggs in the very early morning. I have 1 out of my 6 that just started laying eggs, the first day it was about 10:30am, the second day it was about 11am and today it was after 2pm. Is this normal for beginner hens?? and will it be in the morning after they are laying for a while? Thanks

Mine lay between early morning to last in the afternoon!! There are definetly not consistent!!
smile.png

Missi

Quote:
Chickens are said to lay one egg every 25 hours (or so, depending on the breed and individual hen), so it would stand to reason that they would lay later and later in the day until they decide they need a rest. My hens tend not to lay eggs before 9am (very civilized, if you ask me!) and are ordinarily done by 3pm. I've had a rare late deposit (5:30ish), but tht is the exception, not the rule.

The more I go out to collect eggs the earlier they lay. I start going out about 9AM and every 1/2 hour or so. Most are done then by 1PM. I quess they like their eggs collected and heaven forbid someone else sits on their egg. Spoiled brats.

Except the Barred Rock, she likes to sit for a few hours and hide from the Rooster, anyone needing a break from him hides out in the nest boxes in the afternoon. I even get an egg or two then, sometimes.

Mine lay all day long. From very early to very late. Some even lay in the heat of the day. I check the boxes 3-5 times a day and find someone in there every time. I had a new layer today leave me a very tiny fragile egg at 7 this evening. It would be nice if they would all get together on this but no such luck for me.

Hello We are also newbies and got our first egg yesterday and our second egg today.We have 5 hens and only one is laying.
yesterday she laid around 12 and today it was close to 1pm.
Sure will be glad when the others start.
JIM&LINDY