When does a duck go broody for the first time?

CalliBee

Songster
Mar 27, 2022
Hello everyone,

Silly question, but this is my first year with ducks. My 2 oldest Pekin’s (1 boy, 1 girl) have started to get verrryyyy frisky with one another. I was surprised to see this since she won’t be laying eggs for a cpl more months. My question is, when she does start to lay sometime in the middle of august, do ducks mate that late into the season? And if so, is their a chance she might go broody? Or will it be too late in the year?

Thanks!

Hello everyone,

Silly question, but this is my first year with ducks. My 2 oldest Pekin’s (1 boy, 1 girl) have started to get verrryyyy frisky with one another. I was surprised to see this since she won’t be laying eggs for a cpl more months. My question is, when she does start to lay sometime in the middle of august, do ducks mate that late into the season? And if so, is their a chance she might go broody? Or will it be too late in the year?

Thanks!
They will mate year round but spring/summer is when they are most active. Depends a lot on the duck on if she will even go broody. Best way to encourage is to not collect the eggs. Though you should collect for the first couple weeks as the first eggs are not the best for hatching.

They will mate year round but spring/summer is when they are most active. Depends a lot on the duck on if she will even go broody. Best way to encourage is to not collect the eggs. Though you should collect for the first couple weeks as the first eggs are not the best for hatching.
Thanks! I’m not looking to have any babies runnin around quite yet. Maybe next spring!

I just had a Pekin go broody and hatch 4 ducklings. Unfortunately she was sitting on way more eggs than that. It looks like the others were squashed during hatch. She is trying to be a good mother, but her size is making it difficult.

Don’t make the same mistake I did and hatch winter babies lol 😂 who were in my house till 4 months