Where are the most awesome growing neighbourhoods in the US?

Discussion in 'Where am I? Where are you!' started by Jono, Mar 11, 2013.

1. Jono

Jono New Egg

Mar 9, 2013
    Hi All,

I am a newbie (my first post) and have an interesting question for you all.

This forum is made up of relatively keen growers and nuturers of not only chickens, but pretty much all things, making it an adience I cant help but ask the broadest question of all.

I am in Cape Town, South Africa. We have an enviable Meditteranean climate. It is hot and dryish in Summer and cool and wet, but never freezing in summer. Growing things is easy. I am a keen veggie gardner, have a few fruit trees and a trio of chickens with a black soldier fly farm and worm farm to boot. I also breed rare clivias.

I am now thinking of moving my familly on, in a few years time and starting to investigate where I would like to move to. Up to now, due to my British ancestry, I have only been looking at small towns in the South of England, but a friend has encouraged me to consider the States. When I start my investigation, I would like to look at somewhere that I can enjoy the perfect environment so here goes...

If we exclude the major cities or anywhere too isolated, and anywhere too cold or too hot (making a growing lifestyle a challenge more than a pleasure), which states have an abundance of rural or semi-rural neighbourhoods or smaller towns, where large plots are the norm and people dont mind chickens (or roosters) or the odd barking dog. Somewhere large enough to have decent schools for my boys, but small enough to enjoy a healthy lifestyle. I want to be woken up by roosters rather than house alarms, but want to have access to shops and schools (relative access to univerities one day and so on). Employment may be an issue, but lets not ruin a good discussion worryin about that for now. :)

Any ideas?

Regards
    Jon

Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  2. bargain

bargain Love God, Hubby & farm Premium Member