Where do I find finisher feed for turkeys?

natyvidal

Songster
5 Years
Mar 1, 2018
Dade City, Florida
Hi everyone. I have five turkeys, Narragassett breed that are earmarked for thanksgiving dinner. This is my first time raising turkeys so I have been reading a lot. One thing I read is to feed them “finisher” feed. I can’t find that in the internet or stores. Is it a omething I just buy? Or simply give them a lot of carb veggies during the last weeks? Will “all stock feed” work the same way? I use that for my donkey and goats. Or is there a recipe for me to blend to give them.
Thank you for your help.

Also, in today’s market how much should I sell the turkeys for? Should there be a processed price and one for unprocessed? I’ve seen them go for $85 at the supermarket. Mine are free range all natural turkeys. Born April 28. I live in Florida. This like a test run this year. If there is high demand for mine I’ll have more next year.

Hi everyone. I have five turkeys, Narragassett breed that are earmarked for thanksgiving dinner. This is my first time raising turkeys so I have been reading a lot. One thing I read is to feed them “finisher” feed. I can’t find that in the internet or stores. Is it a something I just buy? Or simply give them a lot of carb veggies during the last weeks? Will “all stock feed” work the same way? I use that for my donkey and goats. Or is there a recipe for me to blend to give them.
Thank you for your help.

Also, in today’s market how much should I sell the turkeys for? Should there be a processed price and one for unprocessed? I’ve seen them go for $85 at the supermarket. Mine are free range all natural turkeys. Born April 28. I live in Florida. This like a test run this year. If there is high demand for mine I’ll have more next year.
A quick Google search shows at least 5 different companies making a Turkey Finisher feed.