Where should I put my brooder?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by RW19290, Nov 11, 2008.

1. RW19290

RW19290 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Southern California
    I don't know where to put my brooder. I want to put it in a place that is sort of out of the way. Any ideas?

2. Dottie Pratt

Dottie Pratt Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 4, 2008
    Arkansas
    I have one in my laundry room.
    And one in the barn.
    I'm very new to all this so I'm trying different places.

Good luck where ever you put your's

And welcome

Dottie

3. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    First of all [​IMG]. Do you happen to have an old shed? We used our shed & it worked great bc it was next to the house so that I could check on the peeps at my leisure & they were out of the weather. You could also put it in a corner of your garage or work shop...just a thought [​IMG].

4. RW19290

RW19290 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Southern California
    Quote:Garage??? hmmm... wouldn't be too loud for the poor chicks?

5. michelle1017

michelle1017 Goat Mama

Aug 21, 2008
    Missouri
    We put our brooder in the garage. My husband is usually working around out there and the poor little things quickly get used to all the noise and commotion going on!

6. TaLani

TaLani ~ Gemini Chick ~

Oct 2, 2008
    Bryson City, NC
    I suppose as long as your car wasn't running for too long in the garage & had adequate ventilation of the gas fumes, then it wld be okay. Some people even put it in their laundry rms if it's large enough. You cld even put it in a spare bedrm if you have a spare one. [​IMG]

7. Pumpkinpup

Pumpkinpup Poultry Princess

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    I put newly hatched peeps in rubbermaid totes in my spare bedroom until they are 2 weeks old and then move them to the big wooden brooder out in the barn. [​IMG]

8. chandasue

chandasue Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 14, 2008
    MN