winter waterer for long periods

HEATHERINOTSEGO

Chirping
10 Years
Jan 31, 2013
Otsego/Plainwell, Michigan
I need help with a better method of watering in the winter or I may not continue this chicken hobby next winter! I currently have 2 one gallon waterers, one for the roosters and one for the hens, I've broken both getting the ice out and de iced. I also have a large 5 gallon metal one that leaks faster than they can drink it, so the coop gets soaked and then turns into an ice rink. I am a full time med student and I also work, so filling up twice a day usually is not an option. And to be honest, i am so sick of dragging water (hot) out there after doing 16 plus hour days. I caved in again this year and turned on the heated red lights because of the low temps this year. I have 5 roosters and 15 hens. I love them dearly, and don't want to part with them. But I need a better option or my lifestyle may force me to give them up. HELP!!

It's hard i get that but unfortunately, it is the downside to owning livestock and having winter. If the metal one is leaking get it out of there, you don't want that, it's can cause chilling by having a wet floor, raise the humidity and so forth.

If you have a lamp, that means you have a method of hydro? have you considered a heated option? there are heated founts as well as a heated dog bowl(i use the heated dog bowl but i have smaller flocks broken down)

The last option is i swap waterers not all my animals have hydro so that is the only option, i keep the waterers filled in the house walk out and removed the frozen one, definitely saves time.

I'm sure others will chime in on their methods, but those are mine.
smile.png
The first winters are usually the hardest, you find out fast what works and what doesn't, you do get a routine down over time but this winter has been hard, even on the seasoned folks, trust me way past wanting it gone lol

Last edited: