Worried About My Little Hen

mommto3kiddos

Songster
8 Years
Mar 9, 2011
Im new to this chicken madness and this is my first broody.. I gave her a clutch of fertile eggs a week ago and moved her to her "nursery".. She has food, water, and is all comfy, but I swear she barely eats.. In the past 5 days she has yet to go through half a scoop of food, and water, I can't tell she is drinking it.. Today when I went and checked on her I noticed her head wasn't perked up like usual so I got down to her and reached in fearing she was dead and I got bit and a nasty "leave me the **** alone" growl..

Im just worried she is starving herself.. Calm me down and tell me she will be fine..lol
roll.png

Last edited:
Is there a chance she was sleeping while on her nest?
Trust me, I understand the first broody jitters!
gig.gif
I've had more than I can remember and I still hover around the coop chewing my nails for the whole three weeks. You would think it was me having chicks.
roll.png

You know she probally was..lol I SURE got the message though to back up and leave her the heck alone.. Shes just so tiny (to me, our only banty) so I have always worried about her.. She seems happier though in her own space now away from the other 6 brats (I mean hens).. they pick on her
sad.png

Hello
smile.png

I think you might want to take her off the nest once a day so she can eat, drink and poop. Some hens have this super broodiness and will literally starve themselves to death on the nest. I've got a hen like yours and she hardly ever leaves the nest unless forced. Dont worry you shouldn't upset the sitting.

Once a day pick her off nest and stay close to ensure that she eats and drinks a bit and especially poops, otherwise she'll do the stinky stuff in the nest and possibly comtaminate the eggs.

Good luck

You can also try giving her treats like cheese or oatmeal to convince her to eat. At least SOMETHING.