Would you get hens using craig$list?

kuulgrl

In the Brooder
6 Years
Oct 9, 2013
Central Michigan
Hi! I'm finishing up building a coop. And looking for hens in my down time.

As much fun as it would be to start with chicks, our family has decided that it would probably be better to start with full size chickens this close to winter. We just don't have the room right now to care for chicks in the house.

Since I'm new to this I thought I'd search craigslist. I'm waiting on a call back from one guy and might contact another if this falls through. I have a short list of questions to ask (I can post after church) and was wondering if this group had any they can think of.

I'll do a full introduction post before long too. Thank you for your help and time!

Welcome to BYC.

In my view, the better strategy would be to get some pullets at near point of lay. Pullets around 14-20 weeks of age. You'd start out with young stock and enjoy them.

I would not likely go hunting on Craigs for hens. The risk is much too high that the birds may be quite a bit older than what you are told. Go with young birds and you'll not regret it.

The health of the chicken is the most important item. If the craig's list bird does not look "good" walk away! You can ruin your desire to have chickens if the first experience is a bad one. I am having a little trouble with mites now, a dark scab on the comb, you can also check feather quality from a long way off, take some time with the birds before you buy, are they sneezing........listless......or do they appear to be alert and bright eyed. I have just imported a trio from another farm and have them in "quarantine" for four weeks, about 50 yards from my other chickens.

John

Here are a few things to look for when buying "used" chickens.
Don't buy from someone who won't let come to there house and see the living conditions. They want to meet somewhere else. RED FLAG
Don't buy from very dirty runs, lots of feces, WORMS