1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Yay for me! wait what?!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by chickenlover237, Nov 25, 2011.

1. chickenlover237

chickenlover237 Chillin' With My Peeps

Ok so for a few months now I have been begging my mom and dad to get me chickens well one of my aunts and uncles have some hens and a rooster and they said they would gather me up a dozen fertile eggs, and my dad aggreed to help me build a coop! I have never had chickens before and I am only 13 (almost 14) and I have no experience so any tips on incubator building, incubating eggs and anything else that could be helpful? Thanks [​IMG]

2. Wolftalk

Wolftalk Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2011
    The Coop :)
    Thats Great!!!! Congrats!!! I begged my mom for chickens for 3 years and then i rescued some eggs from a girl who i was house sitting for. My wish came true!!! Heres some advice:

*Do your research and get the best incubator you can.

*Read as many posts, books, and internet sites as you can.

*Print out ANY usefull information you find and put it in a BINDER/FOLDER.

*Look at coop info and blueprints NOW!!! Time goes by fast and youll need that coop faster than you think!

*Make a complete typed list of EVERYTHING you will need for raising chicks (ex... 1) Chick starter 2) Heat lamp & Reflector 3) Feather Duster etc.)

*Make sure you have a plan if you end up with more roosters than you want.

*If youve got a dog, dogs chase things that run. Make sure you have somewhere to keep it away from the chicks/chickens.

As for incubating :

*Make special note of the humididy, it plays a big roll!

*Dont forget to sleep on the the last few days before they hatch!!!! Its fun to watch them wiggle in thier shell