You get what you pay for, but I fixed it !

ladychicken&Ducklover

Songster
8 Years
May 21, 2011
Champion, Michigan
So 4 months ago, a friend told me of Her friend, who is a coop builder and is very reasonable .
wee.gif

I was desperate for my coop to be built as I had babies living in a spare room in my house because I just could Not find a Pre-built coop that would be good enough for 3 ducks and 9 chickens, plus, I found $1200 - 2500 for a

coop, to be outrageous.
barnie.gif

Problem with the " friend of a friend " deal , was that he lives in Duluth, MN., and I live in Upper Peninsula , MI., 4 hours away!
th.gif

He and I spoke often, and he had promised a 12x20 walk in coop, ( just what I need as I am a female veteran , disabled during the 1984 plus, Gulf War and this coop would be roomy enough for me to get around in ).

The coop was going to have all kinds of bells and whistles, from dust bath boxes to storage area, to a heated pond for my ducks , all for $375 !
ya.gif

Well, I know about the " you get what you pay for" phrase, so I was VERY cautious.

DH drove all the way to Duluth, picked him up, brought him home and he went right to work.

He was a great worker but needed some help, so my 15 yr old son, chipped in.

He was done in 2 days

It was sitting on unlevel ground ..( I was not present when the frame went up so I could tell them ) .

I about passed out when I saw the roof !!:

OMG, what did I just get myself into ?
he.gif

Now, Im no builder, I cant even build a box, but I DO know that for a 12x20 roof, you need MORE than 4 , 2x4x12's spaced 4 ft apart , ALOT MORE than a 10 degree pitch, AND the 2x4.s should be screwed in with the 2 inch

side facing up, since it gives the board more strength!

He also used 1/8 inch UNTREATED PLYWOOD , 4x8 size..
idunno.gif

The frame and doors were fine.