Bathing Silkies: How To Keep Them Bright & Fluffy!

Ever wondered how to get your Silkie back to it's original fluffy, poofy self? Look no further as I explain my show preparation methods!
By Fur-N-Fowl · Sep 7, 2019 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. The Farmers' Daughter
    "Very helpful"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2019
    I've bathed my regular chickens before, but was unsure with my silkie. Now I know!

    Thanks for being so thorough. Nothing was missed.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      No problem, I'm glad it has helped.
      Thankyou for the review!
  2. LeoPig
    "Great Article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 12, 2019
    I love it! The pictures and instructions are very detailed.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou so much!
  3. CrazyChookChookLady
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    Thank you for the wonderful step by step instructions! My silikies have never been cleaner!
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      That's great, I'm glad your silkies are clean again!
  4. SurferchickinSB
    "Good article"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    Good article! I don’t have silkies but I will apply this information to my larger chickens.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Glad the information is useful for you, Thankyou for the review!
  5. AviansLove
    "Very nice."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    provides excellent information I think every silkie owner needs. My girls and boy love getting dirty so this is really helpful and well written. Good job and thanks.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      No problem, glad it has helped.
      Thankyou for the review!
  6. Austin81
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Great read.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou!
  7. Cyprus
    "Very nice article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    This is a very well detailed and immensely useful article, not just for Silkies! I recommend that everyone with show birds read this article.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou so much for the great review!
  8. Mybackyardpeepers
    "Awesome article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    I hope I get the courage to bathe mine someday soon lol.
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      I'm sure you will, Thankyou for the review!
  9. blackandtan
    "Best article on washing, ever!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Thank you so much for such an excellent article, you covered everything necessary. As a taxidermist, I am always washing and fluffing various birds, though I use chemicals and tools you’d NEVER use on a live bird! Your silkies are gorgeous and I can’t wait to try cleaning a bird, (a dead one!), with safer and gentler chemicals and tools.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou, I'm glad you like it!
      Whatever you use the article for, I hope it helps.
  10. WannaBeHillBilly
    "Excellent article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2019
    I don't have Silkies, i don't even have chickens, but following the detailed descriptions in this article i feel confident i'd be able to bathe a Silkie. Well written, lot's of humor and hilarious pictures of wet chickens!
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou for the lovely review!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: