Bathing Silkies: How To Keep Them Bright & Fluffy!

Ever wondered how to get your Silkie back to it's original fluffy, poofy self? Look no further as I explain my show preparation methods!
By Fur-N-Fowl · Sep 7, 2019 · ·
Rating:
5/5,
  1. AviansLove
    "Very nice."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 11, 2019
    provides excellent information I think every silkie owner needs. My girls and boy love getting dirty so this is really helpful and well written. Good job and thanks.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      No problem, glad it has helped.
      Thankyou for the review!
  2. Austin81
    ""
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Great read.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou!
  3. Cyprus
    "Very nice article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    This is a very well detailed and immensely useful article, not just for Silkies! I recommend that everyone with show birds read this article.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou so much for the great review!
  4. Mybackyardpeepers
    "Awesome article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    I hope I get the courage to bathe mine someday soon lol.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      I'm sure you will, Thankyou for the review!
  5. blackandtan
    "Best article on washing, ever!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 10, 2019
    Thank you so much for such an excellent article, you covered everything necessary. As a taxidermist, I am always washing and fluffing various birds, though I use chemicals and tools you’d NEVER use on a live bird! Your silkies are gorgeous and I can’t wait to try cleaning a bird, (a dead one!), with safer and gentler chemicals and tools.
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou, I'm glad you like it!
      Whatever you use the article for, I hope it helps.
  6. WannaBeHillBilly
    "Excellent article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2019
    I don't have Silkies, i don't even have chickens, but following the detailed descriptions in this article i feel confident i'd be able to bathe a Silkie. Well written, lot's of humor and hilarious pictures of wet chickens!
    Fur-N-Fowl likes this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Thankyou for the lovely review!
  7. Duck_life
    "Great!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2019
    this article helped with my beautiful babies! thanks!
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      I'm glad it's helped, Thankyou for the good review!
  8. MROO
    "Silkie Baths Made Clear & Easy!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2019
    This is a great blow-by-blow (blow-dry-by-blow-dry?) description on how to bathe a Silkie. The pics are absolutely priceless! Nicely Done!
    WannaBeHillBilly and Fur-N-Fowl like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Blow-Dry-By-Blow-Dry sounds great!
      Thankyou for the nice review :)
  9. Shadrach
    "Very Comprehensive."
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Sep 8, 2019
    I don't like, or keep Silkies. I don't agree with showing chickens.
    If you're not like me, and there are lots of you ;) then this article is a must. The advice seems sound, the pictures are great and the article hangs together well.
    If there was such a thing as a wet look Silkie I might change my mind.:)
    Meg-in-MT, Fur-N-Fowl and casportpony like this.
    1. Fur-N-Fowl
      Everyone has their own preferences and opinions and that's completely understandable.
      I really appreciate the lovely review on my article though, Thankyou!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: