Building a Momma Heat Cave for Ducklings

Inspired by the article »Brooding with Mama Heating Pad« from @Blooie, started to develop something similar for my 2019 Spring Ducklings. The...
By WannaBeHillBilly · Jan 31, 2019 · Updated Feb 4, 2019 · ·
Rating:
4.66667/5,
  1. alex5chickens
    "Smart idea"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 11, 2019
    I think this is a great idea and would probably be better than a heat lamp.
    WannaBeHillBilly likes this.
  2. EggWalrus
    "good info"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 9, 2019
    I've been putting off building one, but as easy as this is, why wait!
  3. BabyGirl2
    "Great idea!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 8, 2019
    I love this idea! I wish I'd heard of it much sooner, it would have helped all those nights or worrying over the babies, ducks, chickens, and now turkeys. Are they sleeping well? Are they warm? Are they to warm? I will be trying this idea! Thank you for sharing it.
    WannaBeHillBilly likes this.
  4. Diannastarr
    "love your duck heat cave its the best sooo far!!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 8, 2019
    most excellent...!!! love your duck heat cave its the best sooo far!! I will try this one you created..!!!:thumbsup:yesss::highfive::woot:frow
  5. feathermaid
    "Love This Version!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 6, 2019
    I am so happy to see a better heat option for ducklings! I've used MHP for my chicks and love it, but heard many folks say it wouldn't/doesn't work well for ducks because of their "messy, wet" factor. But here I see this version doesn't have to make actual contact with the birds, so doesn't have to be adjusted at all... and can be easily cleaned. I love it! Thank you sharing your experience!
  6. FluffTheDuck
    "Try it!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Apr 4, 2019
    I am hopefully going to try this for my ducklings. It sounds pretty good!

    This is an amazing invention! You should sell it online on eBay or something.
    1. WannaBeHillBilly
      A good idea to sell this on eBay, but: We live in the land of extensive customer protection rights and i am too scared to sell something with electricity and life animals to idiots who might screw up big time and hold me responsible for their dead ducklings…
  7. Purple_grape84
    "Excellent adaptation of the MHP for ducklings"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Apr 2, 2019
    Excellent explanation with easy to follow instructions. Also gives is for adapting to your own needs.
  8. HeartoftheMatterFarm
    "Like alot"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Apr 2, 2019
    I like this idea. Would not only for ducklings but chicks as well.
  9. 007Sean
    "Nice build"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Apr 2, 2019
    Good job of explaining how you built your MHC. Good photos.
  10. BReeder!
    "Nice job!"
    4/5, 4 out of 5, reviewed Feb 4, 2019
    Looks great. at 90, that would even work for chickens or quail - I have hatched these, but not ducks. I'm wondering if there's a better way to regulate the temperature inside the cave. Perhaps a different heat pad with more precise temperature control or they typical method of raising the heat source. Perhaps something that is height adjustable but with solid sides to keep the cave effect.
    1. WannaBeHillBilly
      You can use a dimmer extension cable to fine-tune the temperature in the cave.
      But the idea behind the heat cave is to mimic a mother bird and the chicks should be able to find their sweet spot with the right temperature. I had some larger ducklings just sitting in the entrance to the cave, happily chirping at me while the smaller ones were inside.
      The exact temperature is (imho) not so important, important is that the little ones have a choice.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: