Understanding Your Rooster.

By Shadrach · Jun 6, 2019 · ·
Rating:
4.63636/5,
  1. Hencraze24
    "Very informative! Huge help!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 18, 2019
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article.
  2. aesch
    "Great observations on roosters and interactions"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 16, 2019
    I actually have written my comments, but forgot to do the stars. Now, if Shadrach could only tell me what my cat is saying ... lol.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      I have read your comments, thank you and thank you for bothering to return and rate the article.
  3. EggWalrus
    "One of the best article on Rooster behavior I have"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 15, 2019
    5 stars!
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading and rating the article.
  4. lauralou
    "Lifesaving Information"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 14, 2019
    I've kept chickens for many years. I've had dozens of roosters over that time, and have admired their beauty, but considered them dangerous animals, and a necessary evil if I wanted to perpetuate my flock. It came to the point where I kept hens only. Not that there is anything wrong with that, and in fact, I believe it is the best setup for many people.

    But recently I decided that I wanted to have a self-perpetuating flock again, and so I picked up some straight run chicks at the Tractor Supply. I now have 3 beautiful cockerels, and I was hoping to keep one of them as a flock rooster.

    Your article taught me a lot about rooster behavior. It gave meaning to behaviors that I had witnessed myself, but never put much thought into. It also gave me an inkling that maybe I could keep more than one of my boys. Armed with my new knowledge, the possibility exists that they will not end their days in a crock pot.

    (Many thanks from Frankie, Johnny, and Jamal.)

    ;)
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article. Naturally most of the chicken studies are centered around hens but even these studies have made some incredible leaps forward in trying to understand hens as something more than egg producers.
  5. Stockpilejoy
    "Thank you for this much needed article.Great info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 14, 2019
    I have searched internet resulting in very little information on rooster behavior. This article explained so much. Just the other day I was in coop with my bucket/scooper that I collect chicken waste in and as I set bucket down it startled one of the hens. As I was crouching down Hansel not seeing what had transpired flogged me from behind thinking I did something to the hen. My immediate response resulted in grabbing him from behind trying to give him a bit of a scare. It just so happened I only achieved grabbing his back feathers since he moved out of the way so quickly. I felt afterwards my actions were sufficient and hoped he realized I did no harm to his favorite hen. When I collect eggs I have to discreetly do so hiding them or he will cry out following me. I've also witnessed him sitting on an egg making strange loud sounds similar to a bear as if he's calling girls to come tend to the eggs. He has made chicken keeping much more interesting and I love all his assortment of noises. He is very loud and vocal :) I plan on trying the grooming technique you suggested. The only negative aspect I've noticed in owning a rooster is that it's very difficult checking over or treating my girls for aliments. If I separate him he tends to freak out resulting in exhaustion. For this reason I now tend to treat using water soluble solutions instead of giving individual sprays/powders and pray none of my hens ever get bumble foot or something that forces me to handle them a lot.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thanks for reading the article. I'm pleased you found it informative.
      There aren't many rooster studies. One of the guys I reference in the article has just finished a study and is in the process of getting it published. I've read most of it and it's very good. What I've written in this article is the basics of what's written in the book.
  6. divediva
    "Thanks so much for sharing this, amazing info."
    1/5, 1 out of 5, reviewed Jun 13, 2019
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article. I assume from your rating that you either disagreed with some or all of it, or was there something else you didn't like about it. All comments and criticisms are helpful if I know why someone didn't like the article ;)
  7. ChemicalchiCkns
    "S C I E N C E for A L L"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 12, 2019
    I expect the text book of powlty science will use copious references.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article. Hopefully some of the observations will filter into mainstream chicken keeping eventually.
  8. brit foster
    "incredibly thorough, informative, and entertaining"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 12, 2019
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article. I'm pleased you found it entertaining. It's a bit long :)
  9. yaldnif
    "So much info!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 12, 2019
    This article had so much insight into rooster behavior. I appreciate the time it takes to put this all in writing. Currently I have two cockerels that were supposed to be pullets. I'm still deciding if one or both should go.
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article.
  10. ButtonquailGirl14
    "Amazing article!"
    5/5, 5 out of 5, reviewed Jun 12, 2019
    Shadrach likes this.
    1. Shadrach
      Thank you for reading the article.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: