Easter Eggers

Average User Rating:
4.31534/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Egg Layer
    Comb:
    Pea
    Broodiness:
    Seldom
    Climate Tolerance:
    All Climates
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Medium
    Egg Color:
    Blue/Green
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Any and All Colors
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    80d64bf1_900x600px-LL-47415037_goldie2012.jpeg

    The Easter Egger is not really a breed. They are relationed to the breeds Ameraucanas and Araucanas, then bred with many different breeds so they no longer fit either breed's standards. They usually have muffs and pea combs, but come in nearly every variety and color, some even have ear tufts or are rumpless. Each EE is different, but overall they are usually a smaller bird that lays pink, green, or blue eggs. They are normally friendly and calm, and their colorful eggs make them a popular choice in backyard flocks.

    7b99805f_cute4.jpeg
    Easter Egger chicks

    718f304a_6864171367_99775b3873_z.jpeg
    Easter Egger egg

    6bec790c_General.jpeg
    Easter Egger rooster

    6bc090a8_Tatianaspics127.jpeg
    Easter Egger hen

    For more info on Easter Eggers and their owners' experiences, see our breed discussion here:

    https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/easter-egger-club.361185/
  • d71d6c2f_IMG_3055.jpeg a1a00880_IMG_1335.jpeg f7a7420a_356711921LL.jpeg 7b99805f_cute4.jpeg 6692783d_900x600px-LL-5bc8c96a_prinjasm.jpeg e6647255_IMG_4759.jpeg ede21f62_Bedazzle1.jpeg ccfa47ef_Bedazzlefaceshot.jpeg 14e3fc86_6209697896_f45606b193_z.jpeg 16479aa2_6209173613_5baa8a1749_z.jpeg e8b0a4a8_5913626167_205559fc08_z.jpeg 799d010b_6006606399_63fb4609fd_z.jpeg 3831ce1a_6204604691_5b8e9699d2_z.jpeg 718f304a_6864171367_99775b3873_z.jpeg 1445a1c3_LightBrahmas4-25-12004.jpeg a6f697ae_IMG_0713.jpeg e1f1052d_chickens013.jpeg c8b3095d_Dakota3.jpeg 65c38010_april3.jpeg 80d64bf1_900x600px-LL-47415037_goldie2012.jpeg 45c2b7bb_betty2.jpeg 532e955e_IMG_0052.jpeg 14fe74c6_IMG_1447.jpeg 1f62b1c8_168844_726814351574_303115922_n.jpeg 721124a3_5.jpeg 232f1f75_5.jpeg 21b0feec_019.jpeg ca900c3d_chickens.jpeg 746895a2_DSCN4613-1.jpeg 81684aa3_Anastasia5.jpeg 883a1438_Buttercup4.jpeg 6bec790c_General.jpeg 13319aea_Lilly6.jpeg 3408c40d_DSCN0452.jpeg 5fddedb6_680x680px-LL-f16e9960_Steve_EasterEgger.jpeg 6c1ecc13_Tatianaspics128.jpeg 6bc090a8_Tatianaspics127.jpeg 2e02f9fe_c.jpeg d71ee8e3_Sylvia.jpeg 6e543142_5AmyMom-Ameraucana039.jpeg d184b111_3days.jpeg a2b4e971_DSC07408.jpeg 1fabf211_P1050414.jpeg d9b16e4b_Sylvia.jpeg b5a3b333_DSCF3046.jpeg 3706ce77_DSC_0292.jpeg a69740ea_IMG_2414.jpeg 9958a265_image.jpeg dc27c89b_014.jpeg e25ac6b2_image.jpeg 95fbde0c_image.jpeg 84ffb306_2014-05-2917.40.29.jpeg 649d0124_2014-02-2817.14.56.jpeg 8bf14a0a_IMG_20140927_091540.jpeg 4a52560c_IMG_4052.jpeg 34796cb0_10485588_958047230913025_4900017433440792085_n.jpeg e2125229_20150123_163502.jpeg 71ec2088_image.jpeg 254baab4_image.jpeg ab36a960_image.jpeg 36157930_image.jpeg 9134a6a4_image.jpeg fc5a8328_DSCF6335.jpeg 2bdd0708_DSCF6419.jpeg 7fc2bfa6_freedomEE.jpeg 0856a60c_image.jpeg 8bd2bcf4_Dinking.jpeg e9c8439a_eebabies2.jpeg 4f163e8e_eeBABIES.jpeg 12612d8b_MdBs4S.png 511c3ee8_chickensrun.jpeg 3433ce34_image.png b077acae_865B3F48-7E72-4686-86F7-92EFEB3C22D9.JPG.jpeg caee808d_50182217804__9FBA7DC0-3A5D-4A35-927C-3F424B5E2416.jpeg

  • Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Egg Layer
    Comb: Pea
    Broodiness: Seldom
    Climate Tolerance: All Climates

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium (4-5/wk per chick)
    Egg Size: Medium
    Egg Color: Blue/Green

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet (muffed ones especially quiet), Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Any and All Colors
    Breed Details:
    Most birds have green legs, while slate legs are often a sign of a blue egg layer. They are gentle birds that love treats and will often follow you around as you tend to chores. Chicks usually have poofy cheeks, and the typical chipmunk stripe pattern. Not all chicks have muffs, however, depending on breeder's flock. The chicks can sometimes be curious and very brave, but as they grow they mellow out. The roosters take very good care of their hens, foraging food, and following their every move. They are the farm favorite here, and there is nothing better than 'Green' eggs and ham.

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. HappyDancin'
    5/5,
    "Love my EEs at all ages!"
    Pros - Colorful eggs, friendly personality, hardy, easy keepers.
    Cons - The incredibly wide variety of "mixes" to make an EE can lead to breed confusion.
    I have several Easter Eggers: baby chicks, adult hens, and one Roo...

    The babies are easily my sweetest, most attention craving little fluffies (of the variety of babies I have currently). The hens curiously follow me around 'chatting' with me. And the rooster respects my space and the hens. I love all of by EE birds, and highly recommend EEs, especially for new chicken keepers.
  2. mrs_organized_chaos
    5/5,
    "Great Brief Article"
    Pros - Calm, quiet, inquisitive
    Cons - Some can be more flighty than others.
    This article is a great brief overview of the Easter Egger. We love having them in our flock.
  3. JedJackson
    5/5,
    "Excellent backyard chickens"
    Pros - Very good layers of eggs of many colors, medium sized and fairly thrifty eaters, most are non-setters, lots of different plumage colors, hardy, good foragers and healthier than most.
    Cons - Noisier and not as calm as some of the heavier breeds. Not accepted by the Standard of Perfection, so cannot be shown at poultry shows.
    This is similar to land races of chickens such as Icelandic and Swedish Flower hens in that they have no breed standards but often have certain traits, such as beards and muffs, green legs, and mixed, wild type coloring, but they don't always have these traits. Nor do they always lay blue eggs. Brown, pale brown, pinkish brown, tinted and any shade of green are also possible. And that is part of Easter eggers' charm-- you can get a rainbow of shades in both the eggs and the plumage, and you never know what you will get until the birds have grown and lay eggs. It's like the lottery, with no real losers.

    They are very good layers. Perhaps not quite up there with sex links or Leghorns, but not too far off from that, and they have more personality, in my opinion. Because they are of mixed blood they seem to have some hybrid vigor, and mine suffer less from disease and ailments than most of the pure breeds I have raised. They are also pretty quick and good at eluding predators.

    For anyone wanting a colorful flock that lays colorful eggs but isn't interested in showing or raising pure breeds, these are a really excellent choice.
    Robin37 likes this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. achiekitty
    My first EE, Brownie, lays big, brown eggs, which can happen. I guess one parent laid brown eggs. She was skittish when she was younger. She's over a year old now. But she's gotten friendlier over time. She's the "adventurous" one. She goes first, the others follow, even though she's at the bottom of the pecking order - foodwise, anyway. She loves to drink water and will almost always do so when I say " Brownie, water". She also runs to me when I whistle or clap my hands.

    I really wanted green eggs. I know someone who couldn't take care of his one remaining hen. Now we got Blondie, or Goldie (that's what my husband keeps calling her). She's 4 and has a calmer disposition. She doesn't get freaked-out as easily as the younger ones.
      HeidiEmbrey and Bonniebooboo like this.
  2. Alberawi Chicks
  3. Bubbe
    I have 6 of these. I love the multi colored eggs that we get.
      HeidiEmbrey likes this.
  4. new2chx
    I have two EE's and would say both are semi-wild, crazy, spastic birds. Beautiful, but crazy.
      Namrag and HeidiEmbrey like this.
  5. mockingbird
    Maybe it's "hybrid vigor" but my "easter egger" chicks seem to thrive a bit better than my ameraucanas. Not that my ameraucanas are unhealthy - just not as robust as the F1 mix ameraucana/dominiques I hatched this year. They are adorable and I am looking forward to green eggs. (no green ham :p )
      HeidiEmbrey and Bonniebooboo like this.
  6. RoosterCogburn7
    EE's lay colorful eggs, but the most common is light green to light blue. They are naturally curious and great foragers when left to eat bugs and worms.
      Bonniebooboo likes this.
  7. MissBobbi
    all six of mine are (I believe) EE's. I got them as chicks at Tractor Supply and can't clearly define any as a breed so I'm assuming they are EE's. They are only 3 months old (or so) so they are not laying yet, but all but two of them love to be touched and are very friendly birds. They are a great flock!
      Bonniebooboo and old glory ranch like this.
  8. Bonniebooboo
    My 4 hens are very nice. very pretty. 2 lay green eggs and 2 lay light brown eggs. (tan/cream) no pink. all have grey legs, muffs and beards, and pea combs. bought as Ameraucana's, but guess they are EE's. Now I have 6 chicks out of them and a cross bred rooster, none of the chicks have grey legs. they are 8 weeks old now. still pretty birds. The hens are 4 yrs old now, and have never been broody at all. But lay 5 eggs a week. I think that is pretty good. I hatched the eggs in an incubator.
  9. DyingPhoenix
    I have gotten three different batches of EE's from a local Rural King. I was told they receive chicks from Cackle Hatchery.

    While I love the rainbow mix of colors and how their eggs have always been a beautiful mint green, the birds are consistently timid and flighty compared to all the other breeds. I bought another 5 EE chicks this year and guessed they would be the scaredy-cats of my new bunch and was correct. The chicks were borderline frustrating, as they were so timid in the brooder that they scared all the rest of the breeds into a frenzy whenever I even walked up or did anything around them.

    Not one of my EE's have been outwardly friendly and calm, they do settle a bit as they get to the laying age and will squat for me, but only if I'm lucky and I only get one chance to touch them before they will run from me all day long lol.

    However, I will always have a place for them in my mixed flock because I do enjoy them regardless. I'll just cuddle and pet another breed instead.
      old glory ranch likes this.
  10. SYLVIA STEVENSON
    Can anyone tell me if they've ordered from Cackle Hatchery, especially any Rhode Island Reds or Golden Comets, Buff Orpingtons, White Rocks, Barred Rocks, Wyandottes, or Easter Eggers? And, I understand each Easter Egger can have a different personality and each within the same breed can have a different personality (and I do have an older Easter Egger now who is not a cuddly bird but she is nice and lays well). I got a batch of Black Australorps from Chickens from Backyards (which has great service) that are extremely skidish and unfriendly. Also, if I get any new breeds again, I want to try to make sure that are somewhat friendly, fairly docile and/or at least will fit well in a mixed flock without much aggression (allowing for a normal pecking order of course) and be easy to handle.
    1. PattJ
      I agree about Black Australops. I have some Gold sexlinks that are very nice hens, and the few Barred Rocks I've had were also nice. My Buff Orpingtons have been of mixed personalities. My favorite hen ever was a Millefleur, but they lay small, white eggs, so not great if you sell eggs.
      PattJ, Jun 20, 2017
    2. mockingbird
      I ordered Dominiques from Cackle Hatchery and they were very healthy robust chicks.
      mockingbird, Aug 1, 2017
    3. Phoebus
      Bght 6 EEs frm Rural King (VA) two wks ago. Let them do the picking for me. All chicks they gave me were different! Got a black&gray, a nice chocolate brown, a cute little yellow one w/ no tail, and 3 similarly marked w/ spots & stripes but different shades of gray, tan and yellow. I love them! They're so friendly. A couple will jump right up in my hand! Can hardly wait for them to grow up so I can see what color eggs I get. (I'm new to this--it's my first batch of chicks!)
      Phoebus, Apr 14, 2018

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by: