Wyandotte

Average User Rating:
4.1048/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Rose
    Broodiness:
    Frequent
    Climate Tolerance:
    Cold
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partrige, silver penciled, blue, and blue laced red
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    American
    The Wyandotte originated in the U.S. in the 1870's. Wyandottes were made in Massachusetts, Michigan, and New York by 4 breeders. They were first called American Sebrights. they were made of mostly Sebrights and Cochins, experts agree that Brahmas and Spangled Hamburgs were used in making the breed.
  • 381b0622_photo2.jpeg ce5c58a0_missy.jpeg ab46e3cc_314345_2058399143206_1341465742_31892441_590581035_n.jpeg f7ff4e12_374188_2208048364343_1341465742_31982451_1660406197_n.jpeg 5c024527_broodycandi2.jpeg 46ebf358_005.jpeg f9f7ccc2_wyandotte_4day.png 3993390a_DSCF0008.jpeg fd0bb8ac_DSCF0013.jpeg df8299f3_DSCF0014.jpeg e7f790aa_IMG_5152.jpeg e23ea546_golden_laced_wyandotte.jpeg 1614870e_chickens006.jpeg f0ec628a_Rosesbirdnestandchickens011.jpeg 689014f1_lay-a2.jpeg 093a7847_favorite1.jpeg 4e7bec1d_silverwyandotte.jpeg 6e588582_P1000562.jpeg fe88fba9_Photo2348.jpeg b983a05f_photo.jpeg 9ab184e2_P3030429.jpeg 16b57087_photo32.jpeg 012a8d1f_2014-04-2820.03.34.jpeg e9ca2793_2014-04-1017.00.08.jpeg 9887378d_IMG_1958.jpeg 737ad071_2014-07-0110.25.23.jpeg 1be485da_100_1997.jpeg 3574b7a8_crazy3.jpeg 98deec5a_061.jpeg 4c37e7ce_076.jpeg e2456a52_Clyde2.jpeg ecfb164d_image.jpeg 8af6d52a_image.jpeg 88fc2cb2_image.jpeg 20182d36_image.jpeg f883f658_image.jpeg 08f6ff2f_image.jpeg 444f3952_GoldLacedWyandotte.jpeg 6a7ddcc0_0723151904.jpeg 1bbcd47c_0914150743.jpeg d2681904_2015-06-2611.26.13.jpeg c4cc9a94_2015-07-1916.21.09.jpeg 8cce2534_IMG_20160302_161024010_HDR.jpeg 8560fd43_nugget3.jpeg fc0f12ca_DSCN2228.jpeg 1c43ebd8_DSC03123.jpeg
  • [​IMG][​IMG]

    Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Rose
    Broodiness: Frequent
    Climate Tolerance: Cold

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    High to Med
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partridge, silver penciled, blue, blue laced red, black
    Breed Details:
    Wyandottes are very good egg layers even in winter! they make a good table bird, and a dressed Wyandotte is nearly proportional to a modern Cornish rock X. the most common colors of Wyandottes are Colobian and silver laced. Wyandottes are often showed, they make up most of the bantam clean leg class at shows! wyandottes are very docile and mellow, my 5 week old will fall asleep in my hands if i pick her up! she is soooooo friendly! she loves to be pet! i HIGHLY recomend this breed!

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. bmanty
    3/5,
    "SL Wyandottes"
    Pros - good layers, beautiful colors
    Cons - Bossy, loud
    I have 3, I bought them when they were a year old so they never really got accustomed to me. They adapted to the coop well, Lay fine eggs, and one in particular is quite vocal and bossy (often)

    I may have to try raising some from chicks up to get a better opinion.
  2. SAMnELLA
    5/5,
    "Awesome and beautiful breed."
  3. Eggsakly
    5/5,
    "I Love These Little Guys"
    Pros - Beautiful, Friendly, Good Layers, Lots of Personality, Cold Hardy, Variety of Colors and Patterns
    Cons - None
    I have a particular interest in bantams for eggs, and for that reason I purchased bantam Wyandottes in late April of this year as day-old chicks from a hatchery. I have one golden-laced pullet, and five blue-laced red variations, three pullets and two cockerels.

    I have had chickens for only three years, and the Wyandottes are the third bantam breed I have raised. The other two breeds are bantam Easter egger and bantam buff Brahmas. The Wyandottes are the friendliest of the three breeds by far. I did not handle them a great deal as new hatchlings because I ordered a larger number of chicks, and for several weeks I was unsure which ones I would keep. Nonetheless, of the six chicks I kept, all are quite friendly. One of my cockerels is in love with me, and it's adorable. He is always next to me whenever I am out in the yard or the chicken house. Two of the pullets jump in my lap every time I sit down in their presence. When I sit with them, those that don't get right in my lap are always close by, walking over my feet, brushing against my legs, chatting and looking in my eyes. They don't like to be touched, but they like very much to be quite close, and they greet me enthusiastically every time they see me.

    They also have a lot of personality. My little cockerel that loves me is a total character, a goof, is very smart, and always the first to figure things out. The two cockerels get along well. He's a little hard on the girls right now, but the Brahmas are larger and older and can deal with him, and the other cockerel helps keep him in line.

    The little golden-laced pullet is also a character. She is off in her own world. She flies better than any of the rest, and I find her in high places from time to time, like on top of the chicken run. She also wanders by herself more than the others, going farther away, and coming in last behind everyone else at night. They love to free range, and they stay out late, but they go in the coop every night on their own.

    The pullets were a full 27 weeks old before any of them laid an egg. That is slow. I'm sure three of them are laying but the fourth one I'm not so certain of. So far they are good little layers, popping out four or five eggs a week each. It's really too soon to know fully how well they will lay in terms of both frequency and size of egg, but the indicators are quite good. These first eggs are small and I expect the eggs to be larger in the future, and more so after their first molt. Right now the eggs weigh 1-1/4 to 1-3/8 oz, with more of the larger than smaller. That is a respectable egg for a bantam, in keeping with the formula that three bantam eggs equal two large eggs from LF.

    images

    1. Mr. P.jpg
    2. Great Lacey.jpg
    3. Mister.jpg
    Better Than Rubies likes this.

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. chickenmeadow
    Just ordered 2 Silver Laced Wyandotte pullets from the Grange. Their arrival date coincides with the broody hatch next week to slip under the hen at night & wanted to add some color pattern excitement to my flock of Ameraucanas & Black Australorps that make a perfect hot & cold weather layer combination for year around laying. Looking forward to seeing how the Wyandottes will be as layers. The color pattern brings back fond & comical memories of my Seabrites years ago. The description above looks great for my group, thanks BYC for the lovely pics & info on all the breeds.
  2. SAMnELLA
    I have 4 silver laced, and really like them.
  3. Taunya
    I just got one to keep company with my lonely little rescue game hen. And it was the perfect choice. She's so calm it's really helping.
      WhatAboutBob? likes this.
  4. AnnieSantiago
    Bella FINALLY started laying last week. Frankly, I think she has a screw missing. She first laid a couple of eggs in the henhouse where they sleep. Then she laid just out on the ground. Those first eggs were "rubber" eggs. Today she finally laid in a nest, but the egg is very thin-shelled and rough. It's also white, which was a surprise. The laying mash has plenty of calcium in it, and when I put out oyster shell or ground eggshell, they all eat it up in one day. When I throw treats for the other hens, she's VERY slow to respond. They'll grab food right out from under her. She's also never squatted and runs if I try to get near her. She has NO comb and barely any wattles. She's one weird hen.
      EclecticLadyy likes this.
  5. robinSnest63
    My girls speckles and poppie will let you pet and hold them if you can catch them...i just love watching all 8 of my chickens
  6. achiekitty
    My Blue Wyandotte, Grey, is the sweetest of my chickens. She doesn't mind being picked-up and petted and she's quiet. Even when she's broody, (about every 2 months so far since she laid her first egg on January 1st) she makes the soft broody hen sound and expand her wings, but she always let me pick her up.

    She lays small light brown eggs everyday, unless she's broody.

    She is the alpha hen and let the others know when it comes to eating, but she's also protective of my EE, Brownie, that grew up with her. Brownie sleeps with her head under Grey.
    We have a new EE, Blondie, that's pecking Brownie in the coop at night. Grey intervenes and pecks Blondie back. Then they settle to sleep with her in the middle.

    She's also not a flier, nor a jumper.
  7. AnnieSantiago
    My Bella is flighty and not too friendly. Difficult to catch for wing clipping. And at what is SUPPOSED to be about 23 weeks right now and STILL no eggs!
  8. zephyr16
    My Silver laced Wyandottes do not like being picked up either but are friendly. One of mine is top hen and lets no one push her around. I have 2 of them, 2 RIR and 2 California Grey. They are 20 weeks and looks like all hens. YAY.
      mbienvenue likes this.
    1. mbienvenue
      Mine sit next to me to be petted
      mbienvenue, Nov 18, 2017
  9. Isabella F
    Has anyone ever a gotten golden laced wyandotte pullet from Murry McMurry hatchery? Were they friendly?
  10. AnnieSantiago
    I love my little BLW. She's real pretty,but she sure seems small, compared to my other chooks. Also, she is always, ALWAYS pecking at the feeder. It almost seems like maybe she's not getting pellets. But she's not too skinny. She isn't a friendly girl - she pecks me if I try to pick her up. I just wonder if this constant eating is a trait of the breed?

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by