Wyandotte

Average User Rating:
4.08969/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Rose
    Broodiness:
    Frequent
    Climate Tolerance:
    Cold
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partrige, silver penciled, blue, and blue laced red
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    American
    The Wyandotte originated in the U.S. in the 1870's. Wyandottes were made in Massachusetts, Michigan, and New York by 4 breeders. They were first called American Sebrights. they were made of mostly Sebrights and Cochins, experts agree that Brahmas and Spangled Hamburgs were used in making the breed.
  • 381b0622_photo2.jpeg ce5c58a0_missy.jpeg ab46e3cc_314345_2058399143206_1341465742_31892441_590581035_n.jpeg f7ff4e12_374188_2208048364343_1341465742_31982451_1660406197_n.jpeg 5c024527_broodycandi2.jpeg 46ebf358_005.jpeg f9f7ccc2_wyandotte_4day.png 3993390a_DSCF0008.jpeg fd0bb8ac_DSCF0013.jpeg df8299f3_DSCF0014.jpeg e7f790aa_IMG_5152.jpeg e23ea546_golden_laced_wyandotte.jpeg 1614870e_chickens006.jpeg f0ec628a_Rosesbirdnestandchickens011.jpeg 689014f1_lay-a2.jpeg 093a7847_favorite1.jpeg 4e7bec1d_silverwyandotte.jpeg 6e588582_P1000562.jpeg fe88fba9_Photo2348.jpeg b983a05f_photo.jpeg 9ab184e2_P3030429.jpeg 16b57087_photo32.jpeg 012a8d1f_2014-04-2820.03.34.jpeg e9ca2793_2014-04-1017.00.08.jpeg 9887378d_IMG_1958.jpeg 737ad071_2014-07-0110.25.23.jpeg 1be485da_100_1997.jpeg 3574b7a8_crazy3.jpeg 98deec5a_061.jpeg 4c37e7ce_076.jpeg e2456a52_Clyde2.jpeg ecfb164d_image.jpeg 8af6d52a_image.jpeg 88fc2cb2_image.jpeg 20182d36_image.jpeg f883f658_image.jpeg 08f6ff2f_image.jpeg 444f3952_GoldLacedWyandotte.jpeg 6a7ddcc0_0723151904.jpeg 1bbcd47c_0914150743.jpeg d2681904_2015-06-2611.26.13.jpeg c4cc9a94_2015-07-1916.21.09.jpeg 8cce2534_IMG_20160302_161024010_HDR.jpeg 8560fd43_nugget3.jpeg fc0f12ca_DSCN2228.jpeg 1c43ebd8_DSC03123.jpeg
  • [​IMG][​IMG]

    Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Rose
    Broodiness: Frequent
    Climate Tolerance: Cold

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    High to Med
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partridge, silver penciled, blue, blue laced red, black
    Breed Details:
    Wyandottes are very good egg layers even in winter! they make a good table bird, and a dressed Wyandotte is nearly proportional to a modern Cornish rock X. the most common colors of Wyandottes are Colobian and silver laced. Wyandottes are often showed, they make up most of the bantam clean leg class at shows! wyandottes are very docile and mellow, my 5 week old will fall asleep in my hands if i pick her up! she is soooooo friendly! she loves to be pet! i HIGHLY recomend this breed!

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. Wyno Queen
    5/5,
    "Wyandottes Are Wonderful!"
    Pros - Standard and bantam.
    Dual purpose.
    Striking color varieties.
    Friendly, docile, quiet.
    Great mothers.
    Reliable layers, over many years.
    Helping a heritage breed keep a viable gene pool and future.
    Cons - Broodiness.
    Go off lay over winter.
    Less showy colours are now endangered of being lost and are now rated as endangered, such as buff columbian Wyandottes.
    Slow to mature, so feeding pullets for a long period before producing eggs.
    DSCN1924.JPG
    Wyandottes are friendly, docile and well suited to backyard chicken keeping.
    Their eggs are particularly sweet and delicious and their pale shell is well suited for decorating for special occasions, like Easter or birthday parties.
    Whilst your Wyandotte may be a moderate producer of eggs and laying will naturally drop off for each year of her life, she will not lay herself to death in a year, like the high egg production birds, so you can enjoy your pet chicken for many years.
    Wyandotte feathers are in high demand by milliners and trout fishing lure makers, so you will be able to sell your flock's feathers when they moult.
    Wyandottes are a heritage breed. keeping them ensures the breed is kept viable into the future, with as big a gene pool as enthusiastic embracing of all the many colours of both standard and bantam Wyandotte varieties allows. DSCN1928.JPG
  2. Sdree99
    5/5,
    "Super friendly!"
  3. Lovemylilcluckers
    5/5,
    "Dottie!"
    Pros - friendly
    easily handled
    enjoys being around people/petted
    easily going with other chickens
    Cons - none!

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. AnnieSantiago
    Bella FINALLY started laying last week. Frankly, I think she has a screw missing. She first laid a couple of eggs in the henhouse where they sleep. Then she laid just out on the ground. Those first eggs were "rubber" eggs. Today she finally laid in a nest, but the egg is very thin-shelled and rough. It's also white, which was a surprise. The laying mash has plenty of calcium in it, and when I put out oyster shell or ground eggshell, they all eat it up in one day. When I throw treats for the other hens, she's VERY slow to respond. They'll grab food right out from under her. She's also never squatted and runs if I try to get near her. She has NO comb and barely any wattles. She's one weird hen.
  2. robinSnest63
    My girls speckles and poppie will let you pet and hold them if you can catch them...i just love watching all 8 of my chickens
  3. achiekitty
    My Blue Wyandotte, Grey, is the sweetest of my chickens. She doesn't mind being picked-up and petted and she's quiet. Even when she's broody, (about every 2 months so far since she laid her first egg on January 1st) she makes the soft broody hen sound and expand her wings, but she always let me pick her up.

    She lays small light brown eggs everyday, unless she's broody.

    She is the alpha hen and let the others know when it comes to eating, but she's also protective of my EE, Brownie, that grew up with her. Brownie sleeps with her head under Grey.
    We have a new EE, Blondie, that's pecking Brownie in the coop at night. Grey intervenes and pecks Blondie back. Then they settle to sleep with her in the middle.

    She's also not a flier, nor a jumper.
      sueiris likes this.
  4. AnnieSantiago
    My Bella is flighty and not too friendly. Difficult to catch for wing clipping. And at what is SUPPOSED to be about 23 weeks right now and STILL no eggs!
  5. nomirawr1
    I have 2 beauty black wyandotte pullets. Not the most friendly beasts, but definitely good mamas and good layers!
  6. zephyr16
    My Silver laced Wyandottes do not like being picked up either but are friendly. One of mine is top hen and lets no one push her around. I have 2 of them, 2 RIR and 2 California Grey. They are 20 weeks and looks like all hens. YAY.
  7. Isabella F
    Has anyone ever a gotten golden laced wyandotte pullet from Murry McMurry hatchery? Were they friendly?
  8. AnnieSantiago
    I love my little BLW. She's real pretty,but she sure seems small, compared to my other chooks. Also, she is always, ALWAYS pecking at the feeder. It almost seems like maybe she's not getting pellets. But she's not too skinny. She isn't a friendly girl - she pecks me if I try to pick her up. I just wonder if this constant eating is a trait of the breed?
  9. SHERRING7712
    I just love my SLW's. Well I guess it's only 1 now. My favorite hen Penny was lost to a Raccoon. She was a little on the bossy side but not mean at all. She was extremely curious and friendly to me. I also have Columbian Wyandotte that is just a sweetheart too!
    I just purchased 4 lavendar wyandotte chicks so I am very excited to seem them grow up.
  10. Chickenlover334
    Hey the last time I got a rooster he started killing my hens then we killed him.we need our hens

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by