Wyandotte

Average User Rating:
4.10435/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Rose
    Broodiness:
    Frequent
    Climate Tolerance:
    Cold
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partrige, silver penciled, blue, and blue laced red
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    American
    LL.jpg

    The Wyandotte aka American Sebright, were developed in the United states in the 1870’s, in and around the New York area. The first color developed was the Silver Laced variety and they were originally called American Sebrights. The name was changed to Wyandotte (after the indigenous Wyandot people), when they were admitted into the APA in 1883. They were exported to Europe around the same time.

    Wyandottes are a calm breed in general and have very nice temperaments. They are good with people and generally get along well in a mixed flock. They are decent foragers, though they do not tend to wander far and are not good flyers. They are extremely cold hardy. The hens are good layers of light brown eggs, good winter layers, will set, and are good mothers. The cockerels make a good table bird. Today they are an extremely popular dual purpose breed and very popular among small flock owners looking for a colorful winter layer.

    They have a flat rose comb and bright red face. Today they come in many feather colors and patterns, with over thirty found in Europe, the beautiful Blue Laced Red and Silver Laced are probably the two most popular colors in general. They are very popular as exhibition birds. Many breeds have been used to produce the Wyandotte we know today, including Brahma, Cochin, Hamburg, and Plymouth Rocks. They are also found in bantam size.

    It was removed from The Livestock Conservancy's Priority list in 2016 and is no longer considered endangered.

    4439_wyandotte.jpg
    Wyandotte egg

    f9f7ccc2_wyandotte_4day.png
    Wyandotte chick

    e23ea546_golden_laced_wyandotte.jpeg
    Wyandotte juvenile

    LL trio.jpg
    Wyandotte rooster and hens

    For more info on Wyandottes and their owners' and breeders' experiences, see our breed discussion here:

    https://www.backyardchickens.com/threads/chicken-breed-focus-wyandotte.1135563/
  • 381b0622_photo2.jpeg ce5c58a0_missy.jpeg ab46e3cc_314345_2058399143206_1341465742_31892441_590581035_n.jpeg f7ff4e12_374188_2208048364343_1341465742_31982451_1660406197_n.jpeg 5c024527_broodycandi2.jpeg 46ebf358_005.jpeg f9f7ccc2_wyandotte_4day.png 3993390a_DSCF0008.jpeg fd0bb8ac_DSCF0013.jpeg df8299f3_DSCF0014.jpeg e7f790aa_IMG_5152.jpeg e23ea546_golden_laced_wyandotte.jpeg 1614870e_chickens006.jpeg f0ec628a_Rosesbirdnestandchickens011.jpeg 689014f1_lay-a2.jpeg 093a7847_favorite1.jpeg 4e7bec1d_silverwyandotte.jpeg 6e588582_P1000562.jpeg fe88fba9_Photo2348.jpeg b983a05f_photo.jpeg 9ab184e2_P3030429.jpeg 16b57087_photo32.jpeg 012a8d1f_2014-04-2820.03.34.jpeg e9ca2793_2014-04-1017.00.08.jpeg 9887378d_IMG_1958.jpeg 737ad071_2014-07-0110.25.23.jpeg 1be485da_100_1997.jpeg 3574b7a8_crazy3.jpeg 98deec5a_061.jpeg 4c37e7ce_076.jpeg e2456a52_Clyde2.jpeg ecfb164d_image.jpeg 8af6d52a_image.jpeg 88fc2cb2_image.jpeg 20182d36_image.jpeg f883f658_image.jpeg 08f6ff2f_image.jpeg 444f3952_GoldLacedWyandotte.jpeg 6a7ddcc0_0723151904.jpeg 1bbcd47c_0914150743.jpeg d2681904_2015-06-2611.26.13.jpeg c4cc9a94_2015-07-1916.21.09.jpeg 8cce2534_IMG_20160302_161024010_HDR.jpeg 8560fd43_nugget3.jpeg fc0f12ca_DSCN2228.jpeg 1c43ebd8_DSC03123.jpeg LL.jpg LL trio.jpg 4439_wyandotte.jpg
  • [​IMG][​IMG]

    Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Rose
    Broodiness: Frequent
    Climate Tolerance: Cold

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    High to Med
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partridge, silver penciled, blue, blue laced red, black
    Breed Details:
    Wyandottes are very good egg layers even in winter! they make a good table bird, and a dressed Wyandotte is nearly proportional to a modern Cornish rock X. the most common colors of Wyandottes are Colobian and silver laced. Wyandottes are often showed, they make up most of the bantam clean leg class at shows! wyandottes are very docile and mellow, my 5 week old will fall asleep in my hands if i pick her up! she is soooooo friendly! she loves to be pet! i HIGHLY recomend this breed!

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. TheWickedChicken
    4/5,
    "Beautiful, fairly friendly birds"
    Pros - Good layers, pretty
    I have 4 SLW hens which I raised from chicks. All are hatchery quality birds and do not conform to breed standard. They are smaller, less rounded, with incorrect lacing. They are still very pretty and soft and I am not concerned with show quality-ness.

    Pros:
    • Great egg production
    • Good tolerance of Texas hill country winters
    • Beautiful to look at
    • Pretty friendly, will let you pick them up though they don't like it
    • Great foragers
    Cons:
    • Can be noisy
    • Don't appear to be very predator savy
    • Seem to overheat easily, though they adapt well
    • Completely denuded the yard of plants over winter. Successful regrowth required putting them elsewhere to graze
    Overall, I'm very happy with my birds. These have been my first chickens and I purchased 3 more GLW chicks to add to the flock this Spring. Hoping the new chicks turn out just as nice as my Silvers.
  2. bmanty
    3/5,
    "SL Wyandottes"
    Pros - good layers, beautiful colors
    Cons - Bossy, loud
    I have 3, I bought them when they were a year old so they never really got accustomed to me. They adapted to the coop well, Lay fine eggs, and one in particular is quite vocal and bossy (often)

    I may have to try raising some from chicks up to get a better opinion.
    hempsteadjb likes this.
  3. SAMnELLA
    5/5,
    "Awesome and beautiful breed."

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. ByrdFeathers
  2. hempsteadjb
    I have a Blue Laced Red Wyandotte and we named her Miss Bossy! Do not disturb her in the laying box, she gets very loud and irritated...and she lets everyone know when she lays an egg.
  3. Tami Lyons
    I just picked up my 2 Wyandottes 1 silver laced and the other golden, I've only had them 3 weeks and they are the most adorable little girls.
      hempsteadjb likes this.
  4. chickenmeadow
    Just ordered 2 Silver Laced Wyandotte pullets from the Grange. Their arrival date coincides with the broody hatch next week to slip under the hen at night & wanted to add some color pattern excitement to my flock of Ameraucanas & Black Australorps that make a perfect hot & cold weather layer combination for year around laying. Looking forward to seeing how the Wyandottes will be as layers. The color pattern brings back fond & comical memories of my Seabrites years ago. The description above looks great for my group, thanks BYC for the lovely pics & info on all the breeds.
  5. SAMnELLA
    I have 4 silver laced, and really like them.
  6. Taunya
    I just got one to keep company with my lonely little rescue game hen. And it was the perfect choice. She's so calm it's really helping.
      WhatAboutBob? likes this.
  7. AnnieSantiago
    Bella FINALLY started laying last week. Frankly, I think she has a screw missing. She first laid a couple of eggs in the henhouse where they sleep. Then she laid just out on the ground. Those first eggs were "rubber" eggs. Today she finally laid in a nest, but the egg is very thin-shelled and rough. It's also white, which was a surprise. The laying mash has plenty of calcium in it, and when I put out oyster shell or ground eggshell, they all eat it up in one day. When I throw treats for the other hens, she's VERY slow to respond. They'll grab food right out from under her. She's also never squatted and runs if I try to get near her. She has NO comb and barely any wattles. She's one weird hen.
      EclecticLadyy likes this.
  8. robinSnest63
    My girls speckles and poppie will let you pet and hold them if you can catch them...i just love watching all 8 of my chickens
  9. achiekitty
    My Blue Wyandotte, Grey, is the sweetest of my chickens. She doesn't mind being picked-up and petted and she's quiet. Even when she's broody, (about every 2 months so far since she laid her first egg on January 1st) she makes the soft broody hen sound and expand her wings, but she always let me pick her up.

    She lays small light brown eggs everyday, unless she's broody.

    She is the alpha hen and let the others know when it comes to eating, but she's also protective of my EE, Brownie, that grew up with her. Brownie sleeps with her head under Grey.
    We have a new EE, Blondie, that's pecking Brownie in the coop at night. Grey intervenes and pecks Blondie back. Then they settle to sleep with her in the middle.

    She's also not a flier, nor a jumper.
  10. AnnieSantiago
    My Bella is flighty and not too friendly. Difficult to catch for wing clipping. And at what is SUPPOSED to be about 23 weeks right now and STILL no eggs!

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by