1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Wyandotte

Average User Rating:
4.07907/5,
  • Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb:
    Rose
    Broodiness:
    Frequent
    Climate Tolerance:
    Cold
    Egg Productivity:
    Medium
    Egg Size:
    Large
    Egg Color:
    Brown
    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile
    Breed Colors/Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partrige, silver penciled, blue, and blue laced red
    Breed Size:
    Large Fowl
    APA/ABA Class:
    American
    The Wyandotte originated in the U.S. in the 1870's. Wyandottes were made in Massachusetts, Michigan, and New York by 4 breeders. They were first called American Sebrights. they were made of mostly Sebrights and Cochins, experts agree that Brahmas and Spangled Hamburgs were used in making the breed.
  • 381b0622_photo2.jpeg ce5c58a0_missy.jpeg ab46e3cc_314345_2058399143206_1341465742_31892441_590581035_n.jpeg f7ff4e12_374188_2208048364343_1341465742_31982451_1660406197_n.jpeg 5c024527_broodycandi2.jpeg 46ebf358_005.jpeg f9f7ccc2_wyandotte_4day.png 3993390a_DSCF0008.jpeg fd0bb8ac_DSCF0013.jpeg df8299f3_DSCF0014.jpeg e7f790aa_IMG_5152.jpeg e23ea546_golden_laced_wyandotte.jpeg 1614870e_chickens006.jpeg f0ec628a_Rosesbirdnestandchickens011.jpeg 689014f1_lay-a2.jpeg 093a7847_favorite1.jpeg 4e7bec1d_silverwyandotte.jpeg 6e588582_P1000562.jpeg fe88fba9_Photo2348.jpeg b983a05f_photo.jpeg 9ab184e2_P3030429.jpeg 16b57087_photo32.jpeg 012a8d1f_2014-04-2820.03.34.jpeg e9ca2793_2014-04-1017.00.08.jpeg 9887378d_IMG_1958.jpeg 737ad071_2014-07-0110.25.23.jpeg 1be485da_100_1997.jpeg 3574b7a8_crazy3.jpeg 98deec5a_061.jpeg 4c37e7ce_076.jpeg e2456a52_Clyde2.jpeg ecfb164d_image.jpeg 8af6d52a_image.jpeg 88fc2cb2_image.jpeg 20182d36_image.jpeg f883f658_image.jpeg 08f6ff2f_image.jpeg 444f3952_GoldLacedWyandotte.jpeg 6a7ddcc0_0723151904.jpeg 1bbcd47c_0914150743.jpeg d2681904_2015-06-2611.26.13.jpeg c4cc9a94_2015-07-1916.21.09.jpeg 8cce2534_IMG_20160302_161024010_HDR.jpeg 8560fd43_nugget3.jpeg fc0f12ca_DSCN2228.jpeg 1c43ebd8_DSC03123.jpeg
  • [​IMG][​IMG]

    Chicken Breed Info:
    Breed Purpose:
    Dual Purpose
    Comb: Rose
    Broodiness: Frequent
    Climate Tolerance: Cold

    General Egg Info:
    Egg Productivity:
    High to Med
    Egg Size: Large
    Egg Color: Brown

    Breed Temperament:
    Friendly,Easily handled,Calm,Bears confinement well,Quiet,Docile

    Breed Colors / Varieties:
    Golden laced, silver laced, colubian, buff, partridge, silver penciled, blue, blue laced red, black
    Breed Details:
    Wyandottes are very good egg layers even in winter! they make a good table bird, and a dressed Wyandotte is nearly proportional to a modern Cornish rock X. the most common colors of Wyandottes are Colobian and silver laced. Wyandottes are often showed, they make up most of the bantam clean leg class at shows! wyandottes are very docile and mellow, my 5 week old will fall asleep in my hands if i pick her up! she is soooooo friendly! she loves to be pet! i HIGHLY recomend this breed!

    [​IMG]

    Rooster
    [​IMG]

    Hen
    [​IMG]

    Egg
    [​IMG]

    Chick
    [​IMG]

    Adolescent
    [​IMG]

Recent User Reviews

  1. Devw
    5/5,
    "Just overall great birds!"
    Pros - Amazing large brown egg producers, friendly, beautiful, tolerant of other chickens/poultry
    Cons - None.
    These are such a wonderful breed to own. They come in a lot of colors, though few of them are actually accepted. My favorite is the blue-laced red, and my personal opinion is that it's by far the most eye appealing.

    They are loose feather breed, so they look incredibly puffy. They have great form, and have a pea comb (making this breed really cold hearty, with addition of its feather type). This bird grows to be a good size (my hens average 6-7 lbs).

    All of my birds have been friendly, and at least tolerant of being handled. I have yet to find a rooster that has been aggressive.

    This breed lays large brown eggs consistently, and make good meat birds.

    If you're looking for a great breed to start out with, or even just to add to your current flock, this is a great breed to try out. They're beautiful to look at, great personalities, and lay lots of big eggs. Just great overall dual purpose birds.
    Overall:
    5
  2. FeatherMtnFarms
    3/5,
    "Beautiful Wyandottes"
    Pros - Quiet (some), beautiful, fiesty
    Cons - Roosters very aggressive
    I have had a Silver laced pullet and rooster and have had a golden laced girl. The SL pullet, unfortunatly we didn't have her long because dogs attacked our first flock, she was very quiet but was very beautiful, a great bird for beginners. We also currently have a GL pullet and she is the exact opposite, she is a fiesty girl, one of the triple trouble we call them because they are trouble makers, getting into things, scaring off the poor cats that just want to be their friend etc.but we love her and she is friendly. But the SL rooster we have is agressive...he is only a cockerel but he picks on some of the hens a little too much and has attacked us a few times...but he is a beautiful rooster and protects his flock from danger! So in all, the girls are lovely and a very nice bird to have, great for beginners as well as seasoned chicken keepers and great for show!! But the roosters can be a little aggressive.
    Overall:
    3.5
  3. WillGriffin03
    5/5,
    "Amazing Birds"
    Pros - Great Mums, Layers, Very Friendly
    Cons - None I can think of!
    Cheap birds and amazing mothers! I have bantams and they are particularity broody and lovely birds!
    Overall:
    5
    Purchase Price:
    40.00
    Purchase Date:
    2016-11-17

User Comments

To post comments, simply sign up and become a member!
  1. Chickenlover334
    Hey the last time I got a rooster he started killing my hens then we killed him.we need our hens
  2. Geminejoy
    I don't think the majority of them are like that. Mine are always very sharp looking, well groomed, if you could call it that. I have 5 SLW and they never have dirty or marred butts. I love to watch the color developed as the get older. Maybe it was just because they weren't raised right, being raised in cages
  3. WyandotteLove1
    Super sorry! I thought that this was a review of an Arucana! I am so sorry and embarrassed! Please consider this an Arucana review! Sorry!
  4. WyandotteLove1
    Love this review. Simple, yet full of useful information.
  5. Evergreenliving
    My wyandottes are very mean. They were all handled well since chicks.They are always picking on my lavender orpington as well as each other pulling her feathers out chasing her away from the food. They were also very slow to lay. I wont get any more of them, I have gold and silver laced hens. They are pretty though.
    1. Abriana
      I have two wyandotte chicks, gold and silver laced, they are about ten weeks old. Does anyone know if they are all mean? They are with a twelve week old Columbian Rock Rhode Island Red and they are all very sweet to one another, especially since the twelve week old has slightly deformed eyes from being pecked as a two day old chick (no pecking). They seem slightly timid and follow the twelve week old around and imitate her. Does anyone know if all wyandottes are mean?
      Abriana, May 21, 2017 at 4:41 PM
  6. AK Chick
    This spring, we ordered chicks from a hatchery for the first time, since our state doesn't have a hatchery. We got chicks from the local feed store, and did not always go home with the breed that was listed. I think kids don't always put them back in the right spot:) We got 2 Black-Laced Silver Wyandottes, 3 Columbian Wyandottes, and 3 Black-Laced Golden Wyandottes. They went outside with a heat lamp at night at 4 weeks with day temps between 50-70 degrees F. They are thiriving, and getting plump. I can't wait to see their eggs! They seem pretty cold-hardy so far.
  7. VistaSRJ
    Yes, I'm referring to buying from small operation breeders instead of the large production hatcheries. Most breeders are going to try to keep their birds closer to the standard and original intent of the breed. I would always recommend people try to find birds from a breeder instead of a hatchery, especially if you plan to breed the birds yourself, or you want to really know what they are going to develop and act like.
  8. Lisa Wood
    So would breeder stock just be buying from small individual hobby breeder?
  9. VistaSRJ
    Thanks, I went ahead and changed my review.
  10. Whittni
    I feel like you meant 'biased' in your opening sentence, not 'predjudice '. Predjudice is usually used in a negative association.

BackYard Chickens is proudly sponsored by