1 sq. foot per bird for chicken coop in a cold climate?

EileneBob

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 29, 2011
Hi everyone, thanks for this forum! I am a newbie, and I posted this on the newbie side, but thought I would cross-post it here - I'm a little short on time to affect the Denver, CO ordinance for backyard chickens.

Denver, CO has an Urban Farm Animals (chickens, ducks, dwarf goats) bill pending that will probably pass. But having grown up in Iowa, the specifications for the coop size seem very small, but I will admit I haven't been in a chicken coop since I was 14.

The ordinance specifies only 1 sq. foot per bird for coop/shelter space. What do you all think of that? Denver, while having lots of sunny days, can be pretty cold for stretches at a time, so the birds would be inside all smushed together during cold days. It doesn't seem like enough room for them to stretch their wings, much less do the flapping thing, without starting fights. There is also no mention of a minimum height, so presumably, they can make a coop that is only 12" off the ground.

My search around the internet suggests 4 ft sq. most often (Humane Society, bird sanctuaries), with a couple of sites saying 'at least 2-3 feet', and one says 2 feet. To me, 2 feet still seems small, so thought I would post the question on the most knowledgeable forum I could find. Any thoughts on square footage per bird or height?

Most people here abide by the 4 sq. feet per bird rule, then the run should be 10 sq feet/bird if you can swing it. Great job questioning the standards and good luck with your flock!

You will find that most on here will suggest at least 4 sq ft of floor space per bird, and that doesn't count nesting boxes. Plus you want a roost up off the ground with enough space and head room. You probably will be most happy if you go with the idea that bigger is better.

Greetings and
welcome-byc.gif