4 weeks and no baby chicks!

mrskalka

In the Brooder
Mar 25, 2015
Hi everyone, I have a slight problem with my broody hen. She has been sitting on eggs for 4 weeks now and no chicks yet. This is my first broody. So I'm new to this. Iv read countless post but I'm still lost.
My questions are:
1. Did my chicks possibly die in the egg or give up?.. I candled last week 2 see if I could see anything.. 4 eggs looked black inside if that makes any sense. Like possibly a chick in them and the other was very veiny( beginning states of formation of chick, I think. )
2. I'm very worried about my hen! She is very skinny! I also think she is getting stressed that the eggs haven't hatched. Should i separate her?
She is inn the coop right now I have a giant dog keenel in thier run that I put my rooster in while some of my girls healed from injury he inflected. Should I make it into a makeshift type coop for her?
3. How much longer should i give them 2 hatch? If she does not hatch should I get her some baby chicks? If so, iv read on giving broody chicks, best to give them at nite, monitor 2 make sure she accepts them, keep chick feed for them and a water dish with marbles to prevent drowning.

If I do get her chicks I was planning on moving her to the dog crate I have since my coop has a ramp, almost positive the chicks could not go up and down it and would fall to thier deaths.

Any advice would be great!!! I'm so worried!

Yes, I would get her baby chicks If hers aren't hatching. She might not adopt them. But it all depends on the chicken. She should if you do it at night.

Thank you so much for replying! I wentered by TSC earlier and they are out of chicks so I have to wait untill Monday to get her some.