7 dust question? And Silkie question?

duck&chickencrazy

Songster
11 Years
Dec 2, 2008
Indiana
Has anyone tried mixing the powdered 7 dust with water in a bucket and then putting the chicken in the bucket for a bit and let them soak?
I have never done this but i am wondering if it would even work?

What I usually do to dust my birds is go in at dusk and pick each one up and dust them. And then i dust the whole coop to. I do this about once a month.

What is the best way to get rid of lice on my silkies? None of my other birds have lice or mites because i regularly dust everyone and everywhere. I checked my other birds and I couldn't find even one lice egg or live lice on any other birds except for the silkies. I am worried because the lice laid the eggs right under the chickens beak in large clumps? How do I get rid of them there without hurting them? Is there some special way of dusting silkies or something? Im somewhat new to having them and I had assumed they were to be dusted like any other chicken but now I think I was wrong....any help would be appreciated!

Last edited:
I think that would probably be okay as long as the dust 7 doesnt get into the chicken's face, and them rinse them off afterwards and dry them. I've never tried this, but I don't see why it wouldnt work. I only have one silkie, and he's never had lice, so I'm not sure. He had some mites once, and I just got some sort of liquid medicine from the feed store and put it under his wings, worked great. I can't remember what it was though!!! Ug, I'll tell you if I remember. Can you ask someone at your local feedstore? They should know about the medicines and ointments they have in stock.

Quote:
The people at our feed stores dont really know alot about poultry and i dont think they would know what to use on them...what type of medicine did you give the silkie? description of it if you cant remember what it was?