8 weeks old chick has saliva in mouth and slight lump under chin

Kerioki

In the Brooder
Jul 13, 2023
Hello everyone. I am new to chick rearing and am panicking a bit here. One of my 8 weeks old chicks has seemed a bit lethargic since yesterday but she ate and drank with her siblings as normal. Today she seems even more out of it and I noticed there was some drool on the sides of her beak. When I picked her up and to take a closer look, i felt a slight lump under her chin that seems to irritate her when I touch it. Usually it's hard to get a chick to open it's mouth but when I applied gentle pressure where the lump is her mouth popped open and I saw saliva coating the back of her throat. She doesn't seem to be in respitory distress as she's not breathing through her mouth, but she doesn't seem to be able to swallow her grains today. She picked at a piece and it basically just stayed on her tongue so I had to pry it out, which wasn't difficult since she didn't even resist. She's usually one of the rowdier ones in the group so her sudden shift in behaviour is pretty alarming. When she goes to drink water she doesn't do the scoop method, she sort of just nibbles at the water then walks away. I don't know if it's an obstruction or some sort of illness. None of the other chicks are acting like that. Is there a safe method to figure out if the lump is some sort of obstruction? My heart breaks just looking at her, especially since I lost a chick last week from unknown causes. Any insight anyone can offer will be appreciated. I'm trying to not full out lose my mind because other than what I described she does have a bit of life in her and her little chick cries are really strong and she runs around a bit with her siblings before stopping in a corner for a break.