Aggressive duck

sparky33372

In the Brooder
Feb 11, 2019
Hi, I’m new to ducks. Last week I rescued 2 abandoned ducks, and put them in with my chickens (separated at first). All was well until 2 days ago when one of the ducks started charging my chickens. I pinpointed it to one chicken in particular, so I took her out of mix for a day, and everyone settled back in. Now today that duck is charging a different chicken. So I separated the ducks again this morning, but the one gets agitated every time she/he sees those 2 chickens. Any ideas why it’s doing this? I have multiple food and water sources and plenty of space in the run. Included a pic, if anyone can identify the breed or sex. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 65A067AB-261E-4E20-9AA9-75E697608732.jpeg
    65A067AB-261E-4E20-9AA9-75E697608732.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 16

FortCluck

Hatch-a-Long Queen
Sep 9, 2019
Central Virginia
If they're drakes, they cannot be with your chickens. Drakes have a penis unlike a rooster and can kill chickens trying to mate with them.

I keep my ducks and chickens separate. I believe some species should no coexist due to their mating and aggressive habits towards other species.

Instead of removing the chickens, I would remove the ducks. The chicken's having established pecking order and when you take them out because they're being picked on, you are ruining their pecking order.

sparky33372

In the Brooder
Feb 11, 2019
@chickensreally, thanks. They definitely look like golden 300’s. Neither has the curly tail feather so a friend was positive they are girls (not acting like it!).

@FortCluck the ducks are corralled away from the chickens. What actually happened yesterday was the picked-on chicken flew out of the run when I opened the gate so I left her out.

FortCluck

Hatch-a-Long Queen
Sep 9, 2019
Central Virginia
@chickensreally, thanks. They definitely look like golden 300’s. Neither has the curly tail feather so a friend was positive they are girls (not acting like it!).